The much awaited Henry Ford Awards, the first and only award-giving body that recognizes excellence in motoring journalism, recently honored the country's finest writers and photographers during ceremonies at the Dusit Hotel in Makati City.

A total of 104 entries poured in for a chance to be recognized in nine categories namely: Published Photograph for Newspaper, Published Photograph for Magazine, Auto Event Story (Print), Auto Industry Story (Print), Automotive Online Feature, Automotive Television Feature, and the Best Ford Feature Story. New additions include the Auto Test Drive and Motoring Column Issue categories.

A symbolic trophy, jacket and a cash prize of Php25,000 was awarded to the winner of each category, while the Best Ford Feature story winner gets a cash prize of Php35,000.

"The Henry Ford Awards speaks of our commitment to acknowledge and recognize the immense contributions of motoring journalists in informing and educating the public about the automotive industry," said Henry Co, President of Ford Group Philippines.

The awards program saw the return to the winners circle of some repeat winners like James Deakin of C! Magazine. Vernon Sarne of the Manila Times, Auto Extreme, and siblings Ulyses and Jason Ang of First time recipients were Andy Leuterio of the Philippine Star and Aida Sevilla-Mendoza of the Philippine Daily Inquirer.

The panel of judges for the 2004 Henry Ford Awards included key personalities in the automotive industry, and government namely, Atty. Lilia de Lima, Director General, Philippine Economic Zone Authority; Antonio Mapa, Automobile Association of the Philippines; Tony Aquino, President, National Press Club; Butch Dua, President, Sacre Bleu Ford Auto Club; and Dr. Ricardo Sigua, Director, National Center for Transportation Studies of UP Diliman.