The Car Awards Group Inc. (CAGI) will be unveiling the 2010-2011 Car of the Year (COTY) at the 7th Manila International Auto Show (MIAS). Coinciding with the show's opening day on April 7, 2011, the awarding ceremony will be held at the Philippine Trade Training Center (PTTC) in Pasay City, right beside to the World Trade Center where the show will be held.

Big Changes

For the first time in history, CAGI has revised its period scope, changing it from a singular year (2007, 2008, 2009) to a dual year format (2010-2011). The decision was made to harmonize the organization's classification time frame with the automotive industry's dynamic market. As a result, it now encompasses more vehicles sold within the broader time frame, may it be newly launched or have received a significant upgrade in its variant, engine, transmission or suspension. The two year coverage also helps the automotive market by providing consumers the opportunity to choose from a wider selection of vehicles that has CAGI's seal of approval. Coincidentally, the Japanese COTY organization has also shifted to the same two year coverage.

CAGI, as a dynamic organization, also continuously evolves in the same manner as its awards campaign. As one of the largest motor shows in the country, the MIAS has always supported CAGI and COTY since it was formed. Thus, to complement each other's milestones, the COTY awards night is now scheduled to coincide with the auto show. It also gives the public full exposure to all of the COTY winners that will be on display.

Automotive Excellence

Established close to a decade ago, CAGI became the Philippines' premier automotive award-giving body though the Car of the Year (COTY) awards. And in its continuous pursuit of searching for automotive excellence, CAGI aims to keep consumers informed with the country's best vehicles and aid them in making the right choices when it comes to buying cars.

Though COTY, the organization intends to spur growth in the local automotive market by giving deserving vehicles the proper accolades. This, in turn, encourages automotive manufacturers to offer their very best products to the public. From the myriad of vehicles currently available, CAGI has tested over 60 eligible nominees from 20 manufacturers, forming 14 categories for the 2010-2011 COTY awards.

Growing Trend

CAGI President Ferman Lao hints that this year's winners points toward cars that offer good fuel economy and value for money. They may or may not be the prettiest or the most well-equipped cars, but "bang-for-the-buck" factor is definitely a key feature.

Previous COTY winners includes the Honda Civic (2005), Mazda 6 (2006), Volvo C30 (2007), Subaru Impreza STI (2008) and 2009's winner, the Subaru Legacy 2.5 Liter GT.

CAGI is a non-stock, non-profit organization of more than 50 motoring journalists from various print, broadcast, and online media outlets.

Supporters to the 2010-2011 COTY are The Automotive Association of the Philippines, Clark International Speedway, SpeedLab, Congo Grille, Brother's Burgers, LifeLine Ambulance Rescue, Red Rock Travel, Caltex Techron, All Terra Cyclery, Winner Graphics, Ortigas Home Depot, Worldbex, MG Madrid & Co. and Manila International Auto Show. With media partners The Philippine Daily Inquirer, The Philippine STAR, The Manila Standard Today, Power Wheels, MotorCycle Magazine, Business World, Business Mirror, Daily Tribune, Malaya Business Insights, Top Gear Philippines, Gadgets Magazine, Auto Review, 99.5RT,,, and