Sunshine Television (STV) is set to launch its annual awards program to seek out the Philippines’ most popular automobiles. The 3-month public poll for the Auto Focus People’s Choice Awards (AFPCA) gets underway on July 1, 2014.

This year also marks the 10th year of the AFPCA. The AFPCA says that they are country’s only award system for the automotive industry that determines the winning models based on a unique selection process that combines on-line public votes and unit sales.

The online poll will be on AFPCA’s facebook page and on To participate, one has to like the page and register. Afterwards, the voter will be guided through a convenient process of selecting individual models in the designated categories. One of the categories is the “Automobile of the Year”.      

Any submitted vote will appear on the Results Page which will rank the Total Scores accordingly. The tally can also be viewed at Same as last year, a 40-percent weight factor on on-line votes will be applied in calculating a particular model’s total score.

For Unit Sales, a value of 60-percent will be factored in. STV says they will work with the Stradcom Corporation with official sanction from the Land Transportaion Office (LTO) to have a data base of new motor vehicles sold. . No second-hand vehicle will be included in the count which will factor in monthly unit sales from January thru September 2014.

There will be some key amendments to the Awards classification and the on-line poll will be implemented this year.

“Since unit sales are now integral to the selection process, we wanted the AFPCA to become a more equitable merit program by levelling out the wide disparity between low volume top end cars and high volume lower priced models.” explained Ray Butch Gamboa, STV’s President/CEO.

“If the Awards were kept at status quo, the high-priced automobiles would stand little chance of gaining the prized “Automobile of the Year” award simply because their off-take is understandably at a much smaller scale. We strongly felt that the Standard and Luxury distinctions already in place in the Model of the Year categories had to be extended all the way to the top. And as such, the AFPCA will have separate “Automobile of the Year” awards for the Standard and Luxury classifications,” Gamboa added.

“The second amendment to the AFPCA selection process involves the frequency of votes,” cited Gerry Aquino, AFPCA Awards Committee Chairman.

“From one vote a week, participants in the on-line poll will now be able to vote once every day throughout the 3-month period. Although the monitoring and oversight roles associated with this will be tougher for the Awards Committee and STV’s systems provider, we’re happy to welcome the heightened interest and public participation that this can generate. Also, we foresee tighter contests and constant nip and tuck battles within the various Model of the Year categories. There’s no model that will a cinch for a Automobile of the Year win,” Aquino said.       

The 2014 AFPCA will feature awards like 2014-2015 AFPCA Model of the Year, 2014-2015 AFPCA Automobile of the Year and 2014-2015 Auto Focus Media’s Choice Awards.

On October 17, the movers and shakers of the Philippine automotive industry will gather for culminating award ceremony during which the final winners of the 10th AFPCA and the 7th AFMCA editions will be officially proclaimed.