The fourth running of the 1,000 Kilometer Historic Rally across the Visayas is all set for 2017. From October 20 to 22, the fourth Tour De Cebu will see classic sports cars once again travel from Cebu to Bohol. The historic rally is a celebration of the sports car in its truest form, being used and driven, not sitting pretty in a garage.

Tour de Cebu 2016

Inspired by the Mille Miglia rally of Italy, the Tour de Cebu focuses on time accuracy over outright speed. Better known as a Time-Speed-Distance rally, this means that each participant has to arrive at each checkpoint at the exact time. Arriving too early or too late will result in demerits for each driver. Cars that are allowed to join Tour de Cebu must be manufactured in 1972 or older.

For 2017, the organizers are expecting about 45 participants to join. Last year's event had around 33 or so participants. Peculiar cars that joined last year's rally included several Nissan 240Zs, a classic Porsche 911 and 914, and a Toyota Sports 800 driven by Martin Aguilar who ultimately won the 2016 championship.

Presenting the annual historic rally will be the Performance and Classic Enthusiasts (PACE) of Cebu and the Manila Sports Car Club (MSCC). The event is managed and co-organized by Tradeshow International Inc while rally management is handled by Pro Dynamix Management by Pepon Marave.