For the 17th running of the Henry Ford Awards, took home two awards from the special awards program for local motoring journalists. Managing Editor Inigo Roces and Editor-In-Chief Vince Pornelos won the Automotive Safety feature and Smart Technology feature, respectively.

Inigo Roces' winning piece was Shattered Glass: What to do when something hits your windshield. His piece talks about what to do when that very situation arises, based on his personal experience. Vince Pornelos' winning story on the other hand was Driving with Nissan's ProPilot autonomous technology, where he explored the capabilities of today's more active driver assists.

Since 2001, Ford, through the Henry Ford Awards, has been giving recognition to the country's automotive media professionals for their contributions in strengthening public awareness of the automotive industry in the country. This year, there was a total of 210 entries submitted by members of the print, online, and broadcast media.

“The Henry Ford Awards is our way of giving back and recognizing the hard work and effort that our automotive media give to boost the industry. We are confident that the winners will serve as an inspiration to the next generation of automotive journalists with their passion and dedication to their craft,” said Bertrand Lessard, managing director, Ford Philippines.

Autoindustriya bags two wins in 17th Henry Ford Awards

The judges for both phases of the 2017 Henry Ford Awards comprised experts in the academe, corporate world, and the motoring industry.

The judges for the first phase included distinguished members of the academe, some of whom have been part of the HFA for the past years: Dr. Severino Sarmenta, Jr. (Former Chair, Department of Communication, Ateneo de Manila University), Dr. Elena Pernia (Dean, College of Mass Communication, University of the Philippines Diliman), Dr. Cheryll Soriano (Chair, Department of Communication, De La Salle University – Manila), and Ron Castro (Senior Marketing Consultant and Professor for Brand Activation and Sales & Channel Management, University of Asia and the Pacific).

The second phase of the competition was judged by Mark Brian Nicdao (Country External Relations for Downstream and Internal Communication Manager, Shell Philippines), Marla Alvarez (Regional Manager, Corporate Responsibility & Inclusive Asia Pacific, Thomson Reuters), Raquel Lichauco (Corporate Communications Professional of 30 years), and Lessard.

The special judges for this year’s awards included Jake Verzosa (Professional Lifestyle Photographer), Michael Sicam (Executive Creative Director, Ogilvy & Mather), and Quark Henares (Film and TV Director).