The Board of Directors of the European Automobile Manufacturers' Association (abbreviated ACEA in French) has elected Carlos Ghosn as its president for the second time.

He was previously elected as president of the association in 2009.

Ghosn, Chairman and CEO of Nissan Renault, replaces Philippe Varin, former Chairman of the Board of Management of PSA Peugeot Citroën.

According to Nissan’s press release, the change of leadership is effective immediately.

"Mr. Ghosn will lead ACEA through an important period of political transition in Europe. Under his presidency, ACEA will continue to focus on its key policy recommendations, which are to drive innovation, to foster growth through international trade and to call for a supportive regulatory framework," ACEA Secretary General Erik Jonnaert said.

ACEA is the main standards group of automobile industry in the European Union. Its members are BMW Group, DAF Trucks, Daimler, FIAT SpA, Ford of Europe, General Motors Europe, Hyundai Motor Europe, IVECO SpA, Jaguar Land Rover, PSA Peugeot Citroën, Renault Group, Toyota Motor Europe, Volkswagen Group, Volvo Cars and Volvo Group.