The Philippines continues to experience a high number of new COVID-19 infections. Just yesterday, the Department of Health recorded over 6,300 new cases – resulting in the country now having 112,593 confirmed cases.

With this in mind, the Department of Transportation (DOTr) recently announced that commuters will soon be required to wear face shields. Under Memorandum Circular No. 2020-014, the mandatory wearing of face shields will come into effect this coming August 15, 2020. This means that commuters that wish to take public transportation must not only be wearing a face mask, but they also have to have a face shield too.

The DOTr has yet to state which modes of public transportation will be required to have the face shield as mandatory. However, DOTr Assistant Secretary Goddess Hope Libiran confirmed with us that they will be releasing an official statement soon regarding M.C. No. 2020-014.

Confirmed: Commuters must wear face shields from Aug 15 on public transport image

With it, we can expect as to what exact forms of public transportation will require the wearing of face shields, as well as other key details about the new requirement.

But with MECQ still in effect in Metro Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal until August 18, 2020, the new Memorandum Circular will initially be applied in areas placed under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) and Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ) since these areas allow public transportation. Under MECQ guidelines, public transport is disallowed.

With more than a week left before M.C. No. 2020-014 goes into effect, the DOTr still has plenty of time to iron out all of the implementing rules and regulations regarding the new face shield requirement.