Davao City Mayor Rodrigo Duterte has just signed Executive Order 39, setting a strict speed limit on highways within the boundaries of his city.

As more and more private and public vehicles figure in accidents that result in damage to property and casualties in the Philippines, Davao City is taking measures to prevent problems with regards to speeding.

On October 30, 2013, Davao City Mayor Rodrigo Duterte, under the provisions of Republic Act No. 4136 (Land Transportation and Traffic Code) put into effect City Ordinance No. 778 and set 3 different speed limits for all types of vehicle in Davao City.

From Sirawan to Ulas Crossing, Lasang to Panacan, Calinan to Ulas Crossing and C.P. Garcia Highway-McArthur Highway to Pandacan – the speed limit is 60 km/hour.

From Ulas to Generoso Bridge/Bolton Bridge, Panacan Crossing to J.P. Laurel Avenue-Alcantara and Ma-a Road Diversion to McArthur Highway – the speed limit is 40 km/hour.

From J.P. Laurel Avenue-Alcantara to Bolton/Generoso Bridge, Buhangin Crossing-Milan to Bolton/Generoso Bridge, C.P. Garcia Highway-Bacaca Road to Bolton/Generoso Bridge and from C.P. Garcia Highway-Angliongto Street to Bolton/Generoso Bridge – the speed limit is 30 km/hour.

The Traffic Management Center along with the Traffic Group-DCPO, LTO Davao City and the PNP Highway Patrol Group Davao City are the lead agencies tasked to clearly mark all aforementioned territories with signs indicating the speed limit and see to it that it is strictly implemented.

The LTFRB and the DPWH of Davao City and also tasked to oversee and assist in any way possible so that this rule is observed even by Public Utility Vehicles.

Violators, if warranted, may be subject to fines, arrest and their vehicles impounded as part of the penalty for over speeding.

Executive Order 39 states “there is an indispensable need to conduct an experimental traffic scheme aimed at arriving at the most appropriate speed limit which will effectively address the current traffic situation prevailing in the city.”