Ford Group Philippines celebrated the 10th annual Henry Ford Awards (HFA) by honoring 13 members of the Philippines media corps for their outstanding work and contributions to automotive journalism.

The HFA have become the country's premier automotive awards, and one of the year's most highly anticipated events This year's Henry Ford Awards is themed Chronicling the History of Change, to celebrate a decade of automotive journalism in the Philippines and the critical role that automotive journalists play in both chronicling and driving the industry's evolution.

"We're proud of what the Henry Ford Awards has become in the Philippines over the past ten years, and what it means to the automotive media. We recognize the key role that automotive journalists play and their influence in helping shape and develop the industry," said Randy Krieger, President of Ford Group Philippines.

HFA 2010 recognized a vast pool of talent across mediums. HFA winners included Ardie Lopez of Business Mirror for 'Best Automotive Test Drive / Event and Feature Story', Vince Pornelos of for 'Best Motoring Column', Junep Ocampo of The Philippine Star for 'Best Environment Conservation and Safety Story', Francis TJ Ochoa of the Philippine Daily Inquirer for 'Best Motorsports Feature Story' and Alanah Torralba for 'Best Published Photograph'. Dinzo Tabamo of Top Gear took the "Fiesta Connect" special category award.

Broadcast winners include AutoExtreme for 'Best Television Feature' and for the second consecutive year, TurboTime for 'Best Radio Feature'. Under the special categories, AutoReview also captured the HFA for 'Best FGP Feature' for Broadcast.

Vernon Sarne, Editor-in-Chief of TopGear Philippines magazine took home three Henry Ford Awards including 'Best Automotive Online Feature' and 'Best FGP Feature Story'. Vernon was also awarded the first-ever HFA Automotive Journalism Achievement Award, a distinction introduced to celebrate HFA's tenth year.

The most anticipated award - 'Best Motoring Section' - was won for the fourth consecutive year by the Business Mirror, under Motoring Editor, Popong Andolong. The judges were again impressed by the distinct look, choice of content and the striking lay-out of the publication citing its ability to draw the attention of readers.

HFA is part of the commitment of Ford Group Philippines to give due recognition to journalists who have supported the automotive industry by providing consumers with accurate news reports and information.
The HFA's integrity was upheld by a group of judges that went through a rigorous two-phase process.

The Phase One judges included: Steven Tan (FGP Vice President for Sales and Marketing), Leah Huang (Ogilvy Public Relations Worldwide, Manila Managing Director), Daphne Tatiana Canlas (UP College of Mass Communication Assistant Professor) and Benjamin Sevilla (Philippine Automotive Competitiveness Council, Inc. Executive Director)
Phase Two judges were Randy Krieger (FGP President), Randy Aquino (Ogilvy & Mather, Philippines Head of Country), Gerardo Mariano (De Le Salle University Assistant Professor for the Department of Communication), and Alberto Suansing (Safety Organization of the Philippines).

HFA 2010 also solicited the help of special judges who are experts in their field. These included BBC News Anchor, Rico Hizon, for the broadcast category; professional photographer John Chua of Adphoto photography; and Bob Cruz, creative director of J. Walter Thompson Philippines; and youth ambassador, Paolo "Bam" Aquino, and Ford's ASEAN Communications Director, Neal McCarthy, for the Fiesta Connect category.