Only 7 of 74 models tested in the new IIHS Front Crash Prevention (FCP) received the ‘Superior’ rating. The rating is the highest possible level granted to vehicles that pass the organization’s safety tests. And 5 of those seven models are locally available.

The new FCP test rates the system and technologies of vehicles in this safety area. It uses a rating system based on the Highway Loss Data Institute research on how forward collision warning and automatic braking systems help drivers avoid front-to-rear crashes. These vehicle features are tested for their effectiviteness at 20 km/h and 40 km/h. To earn a ‘Superior’ rating, the vehicle should have autobrake and can avoid a crash, or significantly reduce speeds in both tests. If the vehicle earns 5-6 points, it qualifies for a superior rating; 2-4 points for advanced rating; and 1 point for basic rating.

Those belonging to the list of ‘Superior’ earners available in the Philippines are:

Mercedes-Benz C-Class sedan (Distronic Plus and Pre-Safe Brake)

Subaru Legacy (EyeSight)

Subaru Outback (EyeSight)

Volvo S60 (with city safety/collision warning)

Volvo XC60 (with city safety/collision warning)

While among those that earned an ‘Advanced’ rating include:

2014 Mazda 6 (Smart City Brake Support)

Audi A4 (Audi pre sense front)

Audi Q5 (Audi pre sense front)

Lexus ES (Pre-collision system)

Candidate vehicles for the 2014 Top Safety Pick award should earn a basic, advanced, or superior rating for the FCP. That merit should go along with a good or acceptable rating for occupant protection in a small overlap front crash, and good ratings in the moderate overlap front, side, roof strength and head restraint tests.