Indonesia and Thailand emerged as the major victors with four and three champion titles each respectively at the recently concluded 2014 Shell Eco-marathon Asia held in Luneta, Manila.

Team How Much Ethanol from Panjavidhya Technological College Thailand drove 2,730 km on a liter of ethanol, the highest mileage recorded for this year’s Shell Eco-marathon Asia. The team How Much Ethanol from Panjavidhya Technological College is joined by fellow Thai winners Sakon Nakhon Technical College in the Prototype Gasoline category and Rattanakosin Technological College in the Prototype Battery Electric category. Since the Shell Eco-marathon started in 2010, Thai students were already dominating the leader boards.

On the other hand, Indonesian student teams were able to capture four Urban Concept wins. The Universitas Indonesia won the Urban Concept Gasoline for the second consecutive year. The University of Sumatera Utara won the Urban Concept Ethanol while the Politeknik Negeri Pontianak won the Urban Concept Diesel. Lastly the Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember won the Urban Concept FAME.

Despite the urban street race, there were improved mileage runs in five categories. New record scores were set for Prototype Diesel courtesy of China’s Tongji University at 616.2 km/l, Prototype Gasoline by Sakon Nakhon Technical College at 1,796 km/l, Urban Concept Gasoline by Universitas Indonesia at 301.1 km/l, Urban Concept Battery Electric by Institute of Technical Education Singapore at 126.3 km/l, and Urban Concept Diesel by Indonesia’s Politeknik Negeri Pontianak at 70.3 km/l.

“A street circuit certainly presents more difficulty as vehicles tend to consume more energy. The fact that teams are still making marked improvements on their scores and clocking new personal bests is extremely impressive,” said Norman Koch, Shell Eco-marathon Technical Director.

Shell also awarded six Off-Track Awards to different student teams that tested the teams’s various technical and creative skills, as well as their approach to safety.

The Communications Award is given to the Pnec Nust-Prototype of the National University of Sciences and Technology, Karachi, Pakistan. The Vehicle Design Award is given to the NTU Diesel Car Racing Team of the Nanyang Technological University, Singapore as well as the Technical Innovation award is awarded to the Nanyang E Drive of the Nanyang Technological University, Singapore. The Perseverance and Spirit of the Event is awarded to MIT Eco-Warriors of the Madras Institute of Technology, India and to the DLSU Eco Car Team – Electric of the De La Salle University, Philippines. The Safety award is handed to the NTU Diesel Car Racing Team which is once again from the Nanyang Technological University, Singapore. Last but not the least, the Shell Helix Tribology award is given to Team Monash 2 of the Monash University, Malaysia.

Edgar Chua, Shell companies in the Philippines Country Chairman closed the event. “In the Philippines we have a saying ‘the youth are our hope for the future.’ When I look at all the young, budding students and what they have achieved at Shell Eco-marathon Asia, I too am inspired myself. I hope they have had a great experience – in learning new skills, absorbing new cultures and making new friends,” Chua said.