In the recently concluded 2013-2014 Car of the Year Awards Night, an event organized by the Car Awards Group, Inc. (CAGI), the Mazda 6 and the Ford Ranger Wildtrak won the Car of the Year - Philippines (COTY-P) and Truck of the Year - Philippines (TOTY-P) respectively. 

“Voting for the 2013-2014 COTY-P and TOTY-P was tough. The continually increasing improvements, value and competitiveness each new model brought to their respective classes made discerning between standout and mid-pack very difficult,” said CAGI President Ferman Lao.

Mazda6 wins Car of the Year

Aside from receiving the COTY-P award, Mazda also won in three different categories. The Executive Car of the Year was also given to Mazda 6 while the Compact 2WD Crossover and Wagon of the Year was awarded to the Mazda CX-5 2.0 Pro, and the Compact AWD Crossover and Wagon of the Year for the Mazda CX-5 2.5 AWD.

Ford Ranger wins Truck of the Year

On the other hand, Ford also managed to take home the Premium Subcompact of the Year award for the four-door Ford Fiesta Titanium sedan in addition to the Ford Ranger Wildtrak TOTY-P award.

The Mitsubishi Mirage G4 GLX MT received the Basic Subcompact of the Year award, while the Hyundai Accent Hatchback CRDi M/T variant was awarded as the Subcompact of the Year. The Honda CR-Z Modulo M/T  was awarded as the Sports Car of the Year.

On the utility side of the Awards Night’s major categories, the Kia Sorento LX FWD five-seater won the Midsize Crossover and Wagon of the Year award. The Volvo V40 was given the Premium Crossover and Wagon of the Year honors while the Chevrolet Trailblazer 4x2 AT won the SUV of the Year. The Foton View Traveler took home the Van of the Year while the 4x2 Pick-Up of the Year was given to the Isuzu D-MAX LS 4x2 A/T.

Seven Awards Night sponsors’ choices were also given to certain vehicles and entities. The CAGI Motorsports Award went to the Hyundai Asia Resources, Inc. who sponsored the Hyundai Lateral Drift Series organized by Lateral D Productions. The Honda CR-Z got another citation with the SpeedLab Tuner's Choice Award, while the Bosch Technical Innovation Award went to the BYD F5. The AAP Road Safety Award was given to Volvo S60 T6 Polestar. The Subaru BRZ won the Manila International Auto Show (MIAS) Show and Go Award while the Filinvest Lifestyle Award went to the Mini Paceman Cooper S. Rounding up the list of awards, the Kia Carens took home the Caltex with Techron Green Award.

As a side note, the said awards night also kicks off CAGI’s tenth year celebration. 

The 2013-2014 COTY-P and TOTY-P season was supported by Filinvest City Alabang, Caltex with Techron, the Manila International Auto Show, Worldbex Services International, Speedlab, Robert Bosch Philippines, Victoria Court, AAP, MG Madrid & Company and Winner Graphics.

The Car Awards Group, Inc. is backed by the following media partners: Business Mirror, BusinessWorld, Daily Tribune, Malaya Business Insight, Manila Bulletin, Manila Standard Today, Manila Times, Philippine Daily Inquirer, The Philippine Star, World News, AQ, Gadgets Magazine, Motorcycle Magazine, PowerWheels Magazine, Speed Magazine, TopGear Philippines,,,,,,, Auto Focus, Auto Review, Motoring Today, Stoplight TV, Gearbox on Jam 88.3 FM, Inside Motoring on DZRJ 810 AM, and Racing Beat on Wave 89.1 FM.