Mazda Program Manager Nobuhiro Yamamoto was named the Dynamicist of the Year in this year's Vehicle Dynamics International Awards.

Yamamoto won the vote of the international judging panel for his work on the Mazda MX-5 25th anniversary edition. The jurors said that Yamamoto's work on "maintaining the MX-5's sterling reputation won him admiration from the judges."

Mazda Program Manager Nobuhiro Yamamoto

"Nobuhiro Yamamoto and his team have taken the tried and true Mazda roadster formula, and have managed to introduce impressive weight savings, returning the MX-5 to something similar to what made the original, first-generation so revolutionary," said jury member Marc Noordeloos.

1991 Le Mans-winning Mazda 787B

Yamamoto has previously worked on several Mazda programs including the legendary 1991 Le Mans-winning 787B. As a review, Mazda became the first and only Japanese car manufacturer to win the prestigious Le Mans 24 Hours race. The 787B completed 362 laps at an average speed of 206 km/h.