Earlier this week, President Rodrigo Duterte made a call to the Metro's officials to keep the roads clear. He made the plea to officials during his fourth State Of the Nation Address. “Reclaim all public roads that are being used for private entities. Marami diyan (there are lot there),” said the President.

Last July 25, 2019, the MMDA, along with Metro Manila Council, discussed ways to solve the congestion problem surrounding the city. MMDA Chairman Danilo Lim led the proceedings, and said, that for national roads and Mabuhay Lanes, parking and illegal structures will be prohibited from following side streets. He also added that converting public open spaces into the parking areas for motorists without proper garages will not be allowed either. For reference, Lim gave a copy of the Mabuhay Lane routes to the city Mayors.

Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) Undersecretary Epimaco Densing III was also present during the meeting, requesting the Metro's mayors to give the agency a list of roads that fall under each official's city. Densing III said the purpose of this is to review and examine which roads are prone to blockages. Desing III also said that DILG secretary Eduardo Año will issue a memorandum circular soon, and all cities must comply within 60 days upon publishing.

The meeting was attended by Mayor Francisco "Isko" Moreno Domagoso; Quezon City Mayor Joy Belmonte; Pasig City Mayor Ma. Victor "Vico" Sotto; Navotas City Mayor Tobias 'Toby' Tiangco; Pasay City Mayor Imelda "Emi" G. Calixto-Rubiano; San Juan City Mayor Francis Zamora; Muntinlupa City Jaime Fresnedi; Makati City Mayor Abigail Binay; Mandaluyong City Mayor Carmelita "Menchie" Abalos; Marikina City Mayor Marcelino 'Marcy' Teodoro; Malabon City Mayor Antolin "Lenlen" Oreta III; Caloocan City Mayor Oscar 'Oca' Malapitan; Parañaque City Mayor Edwin Olivarez; Las Piñas City Mayor Imelda Aguilar, and Pateros Mayor Miguel Ponce III.