In an effort to clarify different interpretations and reports on the 'no window hours' scheme as part of the number coding policy or Unified Vehicular Volume Reduction Program (UVVRP), the MMDA and representatives from 17 local government units in Metro Manila have unanimously agreed to standardize application of the said policy within the metropolis.

During 'window hours' of the UVVRP or number coding, some Metro Manila cities allow 'coded' or banned vehicles to use their roads between 9:00AM to 4:00PM or 10:00AM to 3:00PM.

However, these vehicles cannot use major thoroughfares such as National Roads and Mabuhay lanes as the 'no window hours' policy is in effect on these roads.

"We have agreed to standardize the 'no window hours' scheme on national roads and roads listed as Mabuhay Lane," said Jojo Garcia, MMDA General Manager.

The cities of Marikina, Taguig, and Navotas will not be affected as they do not implement the the vehicle reduction program in their localities.

"Effective immediately, MMDA traffic enforcers will apprehend violators on national roads while counterpart traffic enforcers of local government units will do the apprehension in their jurisdiction," said Garcia.