It's official: Metro Manila will remain under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) until July 15, 2020, while Cebu City will still be under Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ). This comes after President Rodrigo Duterte announced late last night the implementation of new quarantine classifications.

Only the city of Cebu remains under ECQ since June 15 as it is now considered a hotspot for COVID-19 infections. Duterte said that this is due to the locals living in the area not following quarantine protocols. The President added that the locals in Cebu City better shape up in order for the government to effectively fight the spread of COVID-19.

"Cebu City is now the hotspot for COVID. Bakit? Eh walang sumusunod eh. Marami sa inyo, hindi sumunod. [Why? Because no one is following. Many of them are not following]" said the President.

"Look, I am here to run a government. I am not here to stay forever. As a matter of fact, I am on my last two years. But you better shape up,” said Duterte.

Aside from Metro Manila, other areas in the country will now be put under GCQ. These are Benguet, Cavite, Rizal, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City, Ormoc, Leyte, Southern Leyte, and Cebu’s Talisay City, Minglanilla, and Consolacion.

Metro Manila remains under GCQ, only Cebu City placed under ECQ image

As for the rest of the country, Duterte said that they will be placed under Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ). Starting July 1, MGCQ is now in effect in the following areas in Luzon - Abra, Baguio City, Ifugao, Kalinga, Ilocos Norte, La Union, Pangasinan, Cagayan, Isabela, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Angeles City, Batangas, Laguna, Quezon, Lucena City, Palawan, Puerto Princesa City, Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, and Naga City.

Other areas in the country such as Capiz, Iloilo City, Negros Occidental, Bacolod City, Cebu province, Bohol, Negros Oriental, Tacloban City, Western Samar, Zamboanga City, Zamboanga del Sur, Bukidnon, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao City, Davao de Oro, Cotabato, South Cotabato, Agusan del Norte, Butuan City, Lanao del Sur, and Maguindanao are now also placed under the more relaxed MGCQ.

MGCQ in these areas means that 'strict local action' will be imposed. This means that LGUs must set up localized community quarantine, zoning, strict enforcement of minimum health standards, scale-up of health system capacity, and isolation of OFWS, and locally stranded individuals (LSIs).