The Philippine Automotive Competitiveness Council, Inc. (PACCI) detailed its plans for 2013 to formulate an urgent Industry Development Plan along with government and its stakeholders during its annual organizational meeting. PACCI is a business support organization whose main advocacy is support for the Philippine Automotive Manufacturing Industry (PAMI).

"This is both an input into the National Manufacturing Industry Strategy being crafted by the Board of Investments (BOI), and a stand-alone rallying point for companies involved in automotive manufacturing and automotive parts and components making in the Philippines," said Ramon Vicente T. Kabigting, Executive Director of PACCI.

In January 2013, the PACCI entered into intensive meetings with the BOI to work on policy to support measures for sustaining vehicle and auto parts manufacturing. The organization and its individual Members held separate meetings with government officials to address the impending issue of competitiveness of the industry.

PACCI's Members are the Motor Vehicle Parts Manufacturers Association of the Philippines, and the auto assemblers that accounted for the bulk of the 71,562 locally manufactured vehicles sold last year - Honda Cars Philippines, Inc., Isuzu Philippines Corp., Mitsubishi Motors Philippines Corp., and Toyota Motor Philippines Corp.

The PAMI has some of the most extensive linkages of all industries in the country, which has helped it account for some 4% of GDP, and generate 8,000 jobs in vehicle manufacturing and another 60,000 jobs in parts manufacturing.  The Industry also supports another 340,000 jobs in car dealerships and upstream auto supporting industries.

“For the sake of the Industry’s strong positive multiplier effects on the Philippine Economy, our objective is to grow the share of locally manufactured vehicles to total sales,” Kabigting said.

PACCI recently elected its Board of Trustees and Key Officers for 2013 during their Annual Organizational Meeting.

The new PACCI Board and Key Officers are:

1.        Mr. Feliciano L. Torres, Trustee and Chairman

2.        Mr. Michinobu Sugata, Trustee and President

3.        Mr. Hikosaburo Shibata, Trustee and Vice-President

4.        Mr. Eddie Jose, Trustee and Treasurer

5.        Mr. Tatsuya Natsume, Trustee

6.        Mr. Ryoji Yamazaki, Trustee