With Enhanced Community Quarantine in place, authorities are setting up more checkpoints within Metro Manila and the surrounding provinces of Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal. As of Monday, there are now over 1,100 of these across the affected zone.

With that, National Capital Region Police (NCRPO) Chief, Maj. Gen. Vicente Danao, Jr added eight more to the long list of checkpoints in the bubble. Seven of these are located along expressway exits. Six of these are on South Luzon Expressway, and one is on the Skyway.

The checkpoints are implemented at Susana Heights Tollgate, Alabang Tollgate, Filinvest Tollgate, Sucat Tollgate, Bicutan Tollgate, Skyway Entry, and the Nichols Tollgate. The eighth is in Balon Bato, a barangay located in Balintawak, Quezon City, and nowhere near the southern expressways.

As a result, there are now 937 checkpoints in Metro Manila with over 7,800 PNP personnel deployed. In Region 4A, the Philippine National Police set up 15 checkpoints and deployed nearly 500 police personnel. As for Region 3, there are 162 checkpoints, along with 982 police officers posted. The rest of the country is under Modified General Community Quarantine, the least restrictive of movement control orders.

For those within NCR and the affected neighboring provinces, the curfew starts from 6:00 PM to 5:00 AM. Exempted from curfew are APORs (Authorized Person Outside of Residence), workers and employees from essential services, drivers of cargo vehicles, and public transport operators. Unlike the first ECQ, public transport is allowed following guidelines set by the Department of Transport (DOTr). A travel pass is no longer required to get around as well. However, those at the checkpoints must present valid identification as an APOR or essential service personnel, or a certificate of employment for passage.