The Metro Manila Development Authority has announced that they are all set for the hour-long earthquake drill this coming July 30. The MMDA, along with the 17 mayors of Metro Manila, have finalized details for the upcoming drill. The drill is aimed at simulating the earthquake itseld and its aftermath. According to PHIVOLCS, the West Valley fault may move in this lifetime, triggering a 7.2 magnitude earthquake.

Called the Oplan Metro Yakal, the drills will begin at 1030 hours with different cities having their roles for the simulations. According to MMDA Chairman Francis Tolentino, each city hall will have their own set of drills, stating that the City of Pasig will be holding night drills from 2000 hours to 2100 hours with all the lights off. Tolentino also added that the Mayors will be involved up to the Barangay level.

The MMDA is encouraging the public to participate in the metro-wide drill, especially in its first five minutes. Oplan Metro Yakal will see the Metro divided into four quadrants which will each have different scenarios played out. The North Quadrant is composed of Quezon City, Kalookan, Valenzuela, San Juan and Mandaluyong. The East Quadrant covers Marikina and Pasig while the West Quadrant occupies Manila, Navotas and Malabon. Lastly, the South Quadrant is composed of Pasay, Makati, Paranaque, Las Pinas, Muntinlupa, Pateros and Taguig.

For the drill, emergency services such as Fire and Rescue and Paramedics will be dispatched all over the Metro. It is advised not to make unplanned or unnecesary trips for the day in order for the public to participate in the earthquake drill.