Motor Image Pilipinas has formed the 10-man team that will represent the Philippines to the "MediaCorp Radio Subaru Impreza Challenge" – The Regional Face-off" in Singapore this November. The team is composed of the top ten survivors of the Manila leg of the Impreza Challenge held from October 10 to 12 at the Greenhills Shopping Center. The Impreza Challenge is an endurance competition where the top 10 qualifiers will be sent to Singapore where they will have the chance to win a brand new Subaru Impreza WRX 2.5 Turbo.

The Subaru Impreza Challenge was started by Motor Image Enterprises in Singapore in 2002 where contestants gear up to battle the harsh weather elements and body fatigue in their ultimate goal of winning a brand Subaru Impreza. With their right palms firmly placed on the palm decals located strategically on the Subaru Impeza cars, hundreds of contestants embarked on their endurance journey where they were only allowed a 5-minute break once every 6 hours.

The Manila Leg of the Impreza Challenge was held last October 10 at the G-Strip in Greenhills. The challenge officially started on Friday at 2:00 in the afternoon with 73 challengers all vying for the chance to represent the country in the Singapore Regional Face Off. One by one, the challengers gave in fatigue and the rigors of trying to do nothing except to place their right palm on their assigned position on the car. The challengers also learned how to make the most of their routine 5-minute breaks after every 6 hours, toilet breaks, rest and taking their meals – all within the time allotted.

On Sunday morning, after 46 hours and 30 minutes, the top ten that will represent the country was formed after the one of the eleven remaining challengers dropped out due to heat exhaustion. Not content on being in the top ten, the ultimate challenger 28 year old Gerard Gonzaga was declared the first winner of the Manila Leg of the Impreza Challenge by logging in an astounding 47 hours and 58 minutes, almost breaking the 48 hour mark. Joining him in Singapore is runner-up and lone female survivor, 23 year old Farrah Aggarao who clocked in 47 hours and 57 minutes. Rounding out the team are Robert Tomas, Aldrin Mariano, Alex Neblasca, Baltazar Liwan, Geovani Lapina, Jommel Dimapilis, Nadine Cabacog and Ernie Banarez.

The qualifiers will be flown to Singapore in November courtesy of Motor Image Pilipinas, the exclusive distributor of Subaru in the country. They will be facing off with hundreds of other challengers from Indonesia, Malaysia, Taiwan, Thailand, China and, of course, Singapore. All will be vying to become the last one standing and will face the daunting challenge of equaling, if not exceeding, the 2007 record of 77 hours 13 minutes set by the first ever female winner 25-year-old Sandra Yeow.

The winner of the MediaCorp Radio Subaru Impreza Challenge will get a brand new Subaru Impreza WRX 2.5 Turbo worth P1.750 million. The last one standing in the Philippine team will also get P100,000 regardless whether he wins the competition. For more information and updates on the Impreza Challenge, log on to and the Motor Image Pilipinas official website