Last March 15, the entire Metro Manila was put on “community quarantine” in a bid to contain the spread of the coronavirus (COVID-19). Together with it’s implementation, the government also announced that they were looking at a curfew that will be enforced from 8:00 PM to 5:00 AM.

The Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) cleared up that it would be up to the local government units (LGUs) to implement and enforce such curfews via local ordinances. Now, they have responded.

As of this morning, several cities inside the NCR have already decided to enact measures imposing a curfew from 8:00 PM to 5:00 AM following the recommendation of the Metro Manila Council. So far, Caloocan, Las Pinas, Makati, Mandaluyong, Manila, Muntinlupa, Pasay, Pasig, Taguig, Navotas and, Quezon City have come up with a curfew in their respective areas. The curfew in these cities will be implemented starting tonight.

During the curfew, all people are prohibited from roaming around without any good cause and are expected to stay at home. Depending on the city you are in, violators may face fines, sanctions, or even be charged and face prison time (the latter in the case of Quezon City per Mayor Joy Belmonte’s E.O. No. 20).

However, certain people are exempted from the curfew including people going to and from work, those in immediate need of medical attention or emergency medicines, and health workers. People proceeding to and from the airport or pier as shown by their tickets are also exempted.

Outside of Metro Manila, Cebu City has also implemented a curfew. Unlike Metro Manila, however, the curfew in the Queen City of the South will begin every 10:00 PM and will last until 5:00 AM. They will also be closing the city from all incoming domestic flights starting Tuesday, March 17. Meanwhile, all seaports in the city will be shut down to passenger travel.  

The curfews implemented in the various city are expected to help reduce the spread of the coronavirus in the country. There are now currently 140 confirmed cases in the Philippines with the death toll at 12.