Toyota Motor Philippines repeated its championship-winning performance last year by ruling the second SPMJ (Society of Philippine Motoring Journalists) Golf Invitational Cup held at the Riviera Golf and Country Club in Silang, Cavite last April 26, an event organized by the Society of Philippine Motoring Journalists (SPMJ) to raise funds for the production of teaching modules and audio-visual materials on traffic education for elementary and high school students.

Toyota, which amassed a score of 222, bested seven other teams representing local car companies in the golf-for-a-cause. These included Mitsubishi Motors Philippines Corp. (223), BMW Group Philippines (223), Ford Group Philippines (232), Isuzu Philippines Corp. (239), General Motors Automobile Philippines-Team Chevrolet (240) and Honda Cars Philippines, Inc. (240), Viking Cars Philippines-Volvo (253). Ties were decided based on count back.

In the individual chase, it was Raffy Juan, playing for Team Chevrolet, who scored a net 69 to emerge as Class A champion of the tournament, which used the System 36 scoring format. Coming in second in the top category was Sherwin Chualim of Toyota who scored a net 70. Third was Edmund Yee of Ford who scored a net 71.

Isuzu's Ronnie Fabello ruled Class B with net score of 73. Fidel Portillo of Isuzu also scored a net 73 to secure second. AS Tanjangco of Volvo recorded a net 75 to land third.

Willie Tee Ten of Ford topped Class C with a net score of 76, with Danny Isla of Toyota and Mike Cheng of Ford, coming in second and third, with net scores of 79 and 80, respectively.

The Media category was won by Ricky Alegre of the Radio Mindanao Network with a score of 74, edging out Philippine Daily Inquirer's Al Mendoza, who carded a 76. Third place went to Gadgets publisher BJ Bajar, who submitted a 77.

In the Guests and VIP division, it was Cosco Oben of Toyota who ruled with a net score of 70. Taking second and third, respectively, were Romjay Ignacio, who posted a 72 and Dante Buerano of who registered a 72.

Prize sponsors of the event were Goodyear tires, Total (Philippines) Corp., and Asahi Glass Philippines.