Now on its ninth year, the World Car Awards (WCA), an independent car awards group that's comprised of over 66 automotive journalists from all over the world, has made their decisions final by announcing the winners for this year's Car of the Year and Car Design of the Year awards together with the World Performance and World Green Car awards at the 2013 New York International Auto Show.

Volkswagen Golf

2013 World Car of the Year

The 2013 World Car of the Year was awarded to the Volkswagen Golf, this has been the second consecutive year that the brand has won the Car of the Year title from WCA after the Volkswagen Up! claimed the title last year, and the fourth time since the Volkswagen Golf VI won in 2009.

The Volkswagen Golf was chosen from an initial entry list of forty-two new vehicles from all over the world and was shortlisted with the Mercedes-Benz A-Class, the Porsche Boxster / Cayman, the combined entry Scion FR-S / Subaru BRZ / Toyota 86 / GT 86 before it emerged as the winner for this year.

"We at Volkswagen are all delighted that the Golf has been named 'World Car of the Year'. To win this award again shows that the Golf is and remains in a class of its own all around the world. This car sets new benchmarks again and again, not least in terms of efficiency and environmental credentials. Soon, for instance, the Golf will also be launched as a plug-in hybrid and as a 100% electric car." said: Prof. Dr. Martin Winterkorn, Chairman of the Board of Management of Volkswagen Aktiengesellschaft.

The World Car Awards jurors stated that the Golf has been "Honed over seven generations since its original launch in 1974" and is "as close to the perfect hatchback design as any car company has come yet."

To be eligible for the overall World Car award, the candidates must become available for sale on at least two continents during the period beginning January 1, 2012 and ending May 30, 2013.

Porsche Boxster/Cayman

2013 World Performance Car

Although the Porsche Boxster/Cayman wasn't able to bag the Car of the Year title after being shortlisted in that category, it managed to take home the 2013 World Performance Car title making it the brand's second consecutive award on this category after the Porsche 911 won last year.

The Porsche Boxster / Cayman was shortlisted from an initial entry list of twenty new cars from all over the world along with the Ferrari F12 Berlinetta and the combined entry Scion FR-S / Subaru BRZ / Toyota 86 / GT 86.

“To be chosen as the winner of the World Performance Car by this global jury is extremely rewarding,” said Detlev von Platen, president and CEO of Porsche Cars North America. “The new Boxster is a serious sports car and has become a worldwide success. Its brother, the new Cayman, is launching this month and has already captivated sports car enthusiasts around the world."

In order to be nominated for the said award, the car must be able to have a sports/performance orientation while satisfying the same availability criteria as for the overall World Car of the Year award. In all cases, they must have a minimum annual production rate of five-hundred (500) vehicles.

Jaguar F-Type

2013 World Car Design of the Year

Jaguar was able to bag the World Car Design of the Year with the Jaguar F-Type. The F-Type managed to stand out from all 43 candidates for the award and was shortlisted together with the Mazda6 and the Aston Martin Vanquish.

"No design project has given me greater pleasure than the creation of the F-TYPE. It's a project I've looked forward to from the moment I joined Jaguar, and it's one that's given my team and I great satisfaction. The F-TYPE is a sports car that is true to Jaguar's design values - beauty of line and purity of form - and I'm honored that the World Car of the Year Design jury has recognized our work with this award." said Ian Callum, Director of Design, Jaguar.

“The F-Type exterior maintains Jaguar’s own elegance in its horizontal proportion and rounded surfaces, yet it looks very dynamic. But I would like to say the interior design is even more attractive. It is clearly driver-oriented, and a grip bar for the passenger is nicely integrated into the big center console. The seat design is superb, too.” commented the design panel.

Previous winners of the World Car Design of the Year award were the Range Rover Evoque in 2012, the Aston Martin Rapide in 2011, and the Chevrolet Camaro in 2010.

Tesla Model S

2013 World Green Car of the Year

Among 21 new vehicles from all over the world, the Tesla Model S emerged as the 2013 World Green Car of the Year after it got shortlisted with the Renault Zoe and Volvo V60 Plug-in Hybrid.

“The success of Model S is a critical step towards the widespread adoption of sustainable transport and we are grateful to the World Car of the Year Jury for the recognition,” said Elon Musk, Tesla Motors co-founder and CEO. “Winning the 2013 World Green Car award is great acknowledgment of what Tesla has accomplished with Model S in the last four years.”

Aside from being able to have a presence of at least 10 vehicles (sold or leased) in at least one major market, the World Green Car of the Year has also got to take into consideration its tailpipe emission, fuel consumption, and powertrain choices.

“The Tesla Model S has wowed the world's press, and for good reason: It's a car from a startup maker that actually competes on its merits with vehicles from established global players. The Model S is fast and stylish, its high-end models offer more range than any other electric car, and thus far, it appears to be well-built and selling well. Now that it's in volume production, it can be argued that it is already the world's most alluring green car that's also practical and desirable.” commented the experts.