Good and consistent driving has made the 2003 Super Saloon Championship a three-way battle and an exciting one too. In qualifying it was all Jody Coseteng in the San Miguel/Caltex Toyota as he put in a screaming lap taking pole position by almost half a second. In second was the Redbull Honda of Mike Anton with the two Petron SRA Honda's of Kookie and Louis Ramirez in third and fourth respectively. Monching Guitierrez was the fastest qualifies of the Super Saloon B drivers in an excellent effort.

Round 1 was all Coseteng as he took the lead at the start and led for lap 1. Anton was chasing him hard with Kookie Ramirez close behind. Monching was leading the B class with a string of cars led by Dominic Bon behind him. On lap 3, Kookie Ramirez would take over second place at the hairpin but a mistake at the next corner would drop him down to seventh. Louis Ramirez would slip by Nilo Pazcoguin of Caltex/Auto Trend and Francis Godinez to take the third spot. Kookie Ramirez would start a charge up the field but he looked like he would run out of time. Gutierrez and Godinez were having a great battle but had Kookie Ramirez closing in on them. John Sambo was having a good clean running and keeping the battling pair in sight. Gutierrez would make a mistake at the bus stop damaging his car and dropping him down the order.

Jody Coseteng would take his second win of the season with Mike Anton in second place and Louis Ramirez in Third. Mike Anton would win the Super Saloon A class with Louis Ramirez second and Nilo Pazcoguin in third. Francis Godinez would win the Super Saloon B class ahead of Monching Guitierrez. John Sambo would win Super Saloon C.

At the start of Round 4 we had a very sportsman behavior as Sambo let Guitierrez use his car. Guitierrez had damaged his car in Round 3 and would not have been able to challenge Godinez for the win. Coseteng would take the lead once again, behind would come Anton, Kookie Ramirez and Pazcoguin. Coseteng would stretch his lead setting fastest lap after fastest lap in his effort to keep Anton behind. Behind a good battle between Godinez and Guitierrez as they chased each other for Super Saloon B honors. After finishing lap 4 Coseteng suddenly drops out with transmission problems handing Anton the lead. Godinez continued to lead the Super Saloon B drivers. The Red Bull Civic would continue to lead, and Anton was also leading the Super Saloon A Class with Louis Ramirez and Pazcoguin racing for second.

The race ended with only 5 drivers finishing the race. Mike Anton took his first overall win and A Division win followed by Kookie Ramirez in 2nd overall and Louis Ramirez in 3rd overall and 2nd in A Division. Despite just finishing 11 laps, Nilo Pazcoguin gets 3rd place in A Division. Monching Gutierrez took home the win for the B Division, while Francis Godinez took 2nd.

SVI Challenge Cup

Intensity and competitive attitude is the way to describe the drivers in the SVI Challenge Cup, after two close races there were protests and a little hot temper as the drivers start to push hard. Still it was female driver Gaby de la Merced of Petron/Bigshot Billiards that earned pole position. Mikko David was second and Peewee Mendiola of Caltex Havoline was third. Gaby was also the fastest of the C class drivers ahead of Peewee Mendiola and Oscar Aguilar also of Caltex Havoline. Dennis Uy of the Velocity Motors/H&R was the fastest of the Novice qualifiers.

At the start of Round 3, Dela Merced took the lead at the start with David slotting into second as the cars came around for lap 1. Dominic Bon was blazing from his last qualifying position and had already moved into the number 6 place by lap 4. Mechanical problems would slow Dennis Uy, as Daryl Flores would take the Novice lead closely followed by Dong Garcia. Bon would make a charge all the way to the third spot by lap 10. The Novice drivers were all keeping their nose clean with no major errors. At the end Dela Merced would take another win with David following in second on the road but a technical violation would disqualify him and move the charging Bon into second place ahead of Aguilar in third. Dela Merced would win the C class with Aguilar in second and Mendiola in third. Flores would take the Novice win with Garcia in second and Uy in third.

It was different in Round 4, Dela Merced and David would take the lead but David would drop back into the range of Aguilar who had gotten around Mendiola at the start. The lady driver was pulling away but behind the Corolla and the Civic were having a fierce battle. Contact between Aguilar and David would lead to heated words after the race, and later in the Officials office. Bon was not making as good a climb as the last race but he had moved up to mid pack before contact with the bus stop tires would slow him down again. At the end it was Dela Merced taking her fourth win of the season, Aguilar would be second and David in third. Dela Merced would once again win the C Class as well with Aguilar in second and Mendiola in third. In the Novice Class it was Uy taking the win this time from Garcia once again in second and Flores in third. Protests after the race make all this provisional until the official scrutineering findings are returned.