The 4Wheelers Davao recently held its 10th annual 4xFun Off-Road Competition at the Damosa Race Track. The country's only permanent closed-circuit off-road race track; complete with spectator viewing areas. The 10th anniversary of the competition also coincided with the celebration of the Araw ng Dabaw. Thirty-six competitors from all over Mindanao coming as far as Zamboanga arrived to brave the very technical race track.

"For this year, we wanted everybody to enjoy, so we made two tracks with different characteristics. For Track A, we made a faster track with less difficult obstacles. But for Track B, we made a more technical design to give the competitors a little more of a challenge," said Mr. Peter Go, Event Director.

Usually known for its muddy conditions brought about by rains, this year's race was rather dry and dusty with the absence of heavy rains. Participants were very much delighted as most of them were able to finish both tracks with good times. Emerging victorious was Reynan Jayme of the WAIG Adventure Team who pulled off a superb championship round run despite not being in the top five seeds coming in from the elimination rounds.

Track A was the relatively faster track but not to be underestimate as would be discovered by many competitors who saw themselves get stuck in the rock crawling section after the table-top in the early part. 4Wheelers Davao's Michael Cerin found out the hard way when he got stuck in this section ruining his hopes of getting into the championship round. The other parts of the track are composed of v-canals, mudpits and potholes. Topping the timesheets was Dante Ravelo of the WAIG Adventure Team with a time of 1m46.28s. Alexander Draper of the Cotabato 4x4 came in second, while Reynan Jayme of the WAIG Adventure Team came in third.

For the more difficult Track B, which was composed of more challenging obstacles, a lot of competitors managed to finish their runs with good results to boot. Obstacles were composed of rock crawls, off-camber alternating holes and v-canals, mudpits, and a unique log obstacle. Topping the leaderboard was Dondon Ramos with a 2m00.97s time. Robert Abas of the WAIG Adventure Team came in second, while Richard Emano of the Tagoloan Offroad Club rounded up the top three.

In the championship round, competitors had to challenge a Track C, a combination both tracks. Top seed Dondon Ramos was almost sure of the championship trophy as second placer Richard Emano got delayed midway through his run dropping down in the overall standings. But Reynan Jayme would pull off an amazing run, recording the only sub four-minute time for the round giving him a little more than 3.5 seconds advantage in the overall standings to take the championship with a total time of 7m57.56s. Dondon Ramos totaled in at 8m01.15s to settle for second place. Alexander Draper followed in third at 8m11.60s. Rounding up the top ten were, Dante Ravelo, Rene Bersales (Iligan Wild Boars), Albert Monte De Ramos (CDO Offroad Club), Robert Abas, Ton-Ton Bayawa (Unlimited Offroad Dipolog), Richard Emano, and John Laster Fanilag (Steel Horse Club). Fanilag also received a special cash prize for being the 10th placer of the 10th anniversary of the 4xfun Off Road Competition.