The Philippine GT Series opened its 2012 season with a total of sixteen participants for all three classes based on maximum power output. These were the GT300, GT200, GT130 and GT100; the cars were tested on a Dynapack portable dynamometer to make sure all cars conform to their class power limits. This season sees big names participating in the series which includes multi-titled Jody Coseteng, Vincent Floirendo, International Kart racer Stefano Marcelo, formula 3 and kart driver Mike Tuason.

In qualifying, Floriendo dominated the field setting the fastest lap of 1:46.503 to take pole, Marcelo qualified second to share the first row with a 1:46.775 lap. Coseteng was on the third grid spot with a 1:47.864 lap. Father and son duo Arnel and Dwight Kevin Carlos qualified for the front row in the GT200 class with Dwight Kevin getting a position ahead of his father.

Polesitter Floirendo bagged the overall and GT300 class of the 10-lap Sprint Race securing a comfortable lead of more than 12 seconds ahead of Marcelo who finished in second followed by Finnish driver VM Kaikkonen in third. Dwight Kevin Carlos led the GT200 class with his father Arnel finsihing a little more than half a second behind. Willie Torres from Davao took the final podium spot for the GT200 class. Dondon Portugal and Micky Kim won the GT130 and GT100 classes respectively.

It was a different story in the afternoon GT race which lasted 15 laps. Veteran driver Coseteng steered his Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VIII to victory with more than half a minute too spare ahead of Floirendo in his Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VI. Marcelo finished way behind 2 laps back aboard his Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VII to round up the GT300 class podium. In the GT200 class, it was Arnel Carlos who took the win aboard his Honda Civic ahead of Torres also in a Honda Civic.

The GT race also took the most casualties with 4 cars not finishing the race. Mike Tuason, Peter Kim, Ramil Madriaga and Dondon Portugal all failed to finish the race. Dondon Portugal and Dwight Kevin Carlos also failed to make it to the starting line.