Alex Lynn of Prema/Theodore Racing wins F3 race at 60th Macau GP

Alex Lynn of Prema/Theodore Racing wins F3 race at 60th Macau GP image

Philip Alvendia / Jet Rabe | November 26, 2013 23:07

Lynn takes pole to flag F3 race win at 60th edition of Macau Grand Prix

British driver Alex Lynn takes the win for Prema Powerteam and a special return of the Hong Kong-based Theodore Racing name as the team celebrates the 30th anniversary of Ayrton Senna’s victory at the Macau Grand Prix. Lynn’s victory makes it a hat trick celebration for the Prema team who won the 2013 F3 Euro championship with driver Rafaelle Marciello winning the driver’s crown as well. The Prema team won their last Macau GP F3 race in 2011.

The Macau Formula 3 races are more often than not considered a major achievement for aspiring race car drivers aiming to move up their motorsport careers. As such, the races have always been intensely contested and attended by the most prominent Formula 3 teams all over the world.

Da Costa at the 60th Macau GP

Last year’s champion, Carlin Motorsports fielded the largest contingent with six cars, followed by Fortec Motorsport with 5; both teams composing nearly half of the 28 car entry list. With all eyes focuses on the top drivers like last year’s champion Antonio Felix Da Costa, and 2013 F3 Euro champion Marciello. Prema/Theodore Racing’s Alex Lynn would match his sensational rookie performance last year to snatch pole position.

As expected from a highly competitive field of young aspiring and talented drivers, the battles on the racecourse would be intense. True to form, 3 cars figured in a crash on the opening lap, which sent the out the safety car. Fortunately, the drivers did not suffer any serious injuries.

Polesitter Alex Lynn (#10) properly managed the safety car condition to restart the race on top as he held off the rest of the field on the way down to Lisboa corner. Determined to make a double win was last year’s champion Da Costa (#1) who charged hard to make his way to second by lap 6 as he overtook Derani (#18). The defending champion would try to catch up and apply pressure on Lynn, but to no avail as the cool Brit was determined to score a win.

A few laps later, Prema/Theodore’s Marciello (#8) manages to slide past Fortec’s Pipo Derani to snatch third. Unfortunately, by lap 11, Marciello would figure in a crash and hand back the last podium position which Derani carefully held until the checkered flag.

The race ended with Lynn taking the checkered flag for Theodore Racing with a pole to checkered flag domination. Da Costa finished in second for Carlin Motorsport, while Derani takes the final podium spot for Fortec Motorsport.