As part of the celebration of Davao City's Kadayawan festival, an auto festival was held at the Speed City in Maa. The event entitled Hot August Nights was co-organized by the Davao Classic Sports Car Club, and am/fm productions. The event gathered together the Speed City Extreme Races, Auto Revolution auto show, a bikini competition, ledge dancing contest and a live concert. Thousands of racing fans and car afficionados attended the festive 2-day event.

The Speed City Extreme Races attracted more than 70 participants to the adrenalin pumping drag fest which attracted participants from all over Davao and even neighboring Cagayan de Oro and General Santos. Many cars were doing considerably good times, but all eyes were on the three big guns, Networx Auto Detailing's Honda Civic EF, Genesis 88's Nissan Skyline R32, and W-Autosport's Camaro driven by Mr. Willie Torres himself. Coincidentally, all of the big guns sported a blue paintjob.

However going into the quarterfinals, Willie Torres would find himself in a dilemma as his car stalled in the starting line, unable to get it restarted he ended his day early. Genesis 88 pulled out its Nissan Skyline just before the race about to start due to engine problems. The developments have made the race more and more interesting. This meant the Networx Civic would be a good contender for the Class B championship. However, pilot Marvin Suzara was eliminated in the quarter-finals against Johnny Go who drove a Toyota Starlet due to a double-breakout.

All bets were off; it became a guessing game as to who would be the king of the hill. Advancing to the semi-finals were Richard Chua, Johnny Go, BJ Lopez of Speed Limits Performance and Peter Abella. Advancing to the final round was Go who found lady luck on his side when Chua broke out. Lopez prevails over Abella who red lighted at the start, but Lopez would later find himself committing the same mistake as he squared up against Go literally handing over the win.

In Class C, it was Jefferson Te who would take the victory as he routed Meiji Angliongto in the quarterfinals, Jonn Hao in the semis and top class qualifier Michael Cong who found himself in the final round of the odd-numbered class.

In Class D, Rex Abrenilla piloted his '94 Honda Civic to win it all as he defeated Marvin Bacalso in the quarterfinals and Wardy Lim in the semis. Finally squaring off against top class qualifier Bryan Bonguyan in the final round of yet another odd-numbered pack, Abrenellia would take the win.

In Class E, it was a walk in the park for top qualifier CJ Mamburam in a Kia Pride who found himself straight to the final round figuring in another odd-numbered class. He squared off with David Ang aboard a '79 Chevy Pick-up who pulled upset wins in the quarterfinal and semifinal rounds when his opponents broke out of their dialed-in times. But Mamburam showed Ang that lady luck is not always at his side pulling a big distance win.

At the Auto Revolution car showoff, 30 show-spec cars were present from Need for Speed Underground inspired cars to classics and SUVs. Being the top bet from the very start was the fully tricked out A-toy/Gladesport Honda Civic of Thirdie Icasas which was also last year's Best Custom Car at the Custom Car and Sport Truck Show. Icasas bagged Best Wild Modified Car and the coveted Best in Show award, runner-ups for the Wild Modified Category are the Mazda Miata of Wesley Bangayan and the Sparco-inspired Speed Limits Performance Honda Civic of BJ Lopez.

In the Mild Modified division, it was Elmer Ong's Mini Cooper taking home the plum while Peter Confesor took 2nd and 3rd place with his E46 BMW 325i and E36 BMW 325i respectively. Taking home the Best Vintage Car award was Willie Torres' red Ford Mustang, while Ricky Floirendo's orange Ford Mustang took second place, The Chevrolet Corvette of Charlie Gonzales took the final spot in the top 3. Bringing home the Best Truck Award was Peter Confesor's Ford F-150 customized in Harley Davidson trim, 1st runner-up was the Toyota Land Cruiser 80 series of Robert Sebastian while Edundo Belen's Ford Expedition took home 2nd runner-up.