It was a dramatic weekend marred by delays, the 2010 Lateral Drift Championship held its final round for the last time in Eastwood City as it moves to a new city venue for the 2011 season. In one of the closest championships ever in the history of the Lateral Drift Championships, Alex Perez claimed his fourth championship title in style taking the last round victory as well.

Perez, Tuason win 2010 Lateral Drift Pro-Am Round 6 image

Pro Qualifying

The Pro Division attracted a total of 18 competitors including foreign drivers from Guam and Japan. With his eyes on the prize, Team Yellow Cab's Alex Perez dominated the Pro Division qualifiers earning himself much needed championship points. Coming in second was Boodie Dabasol with a newly powered-up car. Team A-toy Bodykits-Gladesport driver Gio Rodriguez followed in third.

Pro Top-16

The pairings for the Top-16 were Alex Perez versus Bryan Revilla of Team Ultra Racing Philippines; Fern-C Racing's Audel Sison against John Boban of Driftmob; Atoy Llave of A-toy Bodykits-Falken Tires versus Francisco Blanco of Team Motul-Autoplus; Jason Choachuy of Team Tires versus Paolo Agregado of AGR Racing; Guam-based Eric Manalo against RJ Obiedo of Team Forced Speed-Fixstop-Hankook Tires; Gio Rodriguez versus Kevin Tayao of Team Yellow Cab; Jeff Villanueva of Team Forced Speed-Fixstop-Kumho Tires against Joma Montaner; and Boodie Dabasol versus Raymond Ronquillo of R33.

Perez, Tuason win 2010 Lateral Drift Pro-Am Round 6 image

Pro Elite-8

Advancing to the Elite-8 to battle it out further were Perez, Boban, Blanco, Choachuy, Manalo, Rodriguez, Montaner, and Dabasol. Perez was paired up against Boban whom he dispatched with ease, further getting him closer to the prize. It was a near collision from Blanco and Choachuy as the former's car suddenly lost power at the exit of turn 5 and spun out with hard-charging Choachuy right behind. Blanco eventually decided to withdraw; handing over the win plus the third overall title to Choachuy. Top Guam drifter Manalo, unfortunately, ran into more car problems and succumbed to Rodriguez's 1JZ-GTE powered Cefiro. It was a close battle between Dabasol and Montaner with slight contact between the two during their first run causing some body damage to Dabasol's car. The crew was quick to fix the car and both drivers went on to do more sideways action as Dabasol proved to be the better of the two advancing to the Top-4.

Pro Top-4

Squaring off in the Top 4 of the Pro Division with their game faces were Perez versus Choachuy; and Rodriguez versus Dabasol, the winners of this round will vie for the top prize while the losers will battle it out for the bronze. A much determined Perez manages to out drift Choachuy, who was guaranteed his third overall place in the championship standings. Pressure-free easy-going Dabasol defeats Rodriguez.

Perez, Tuason win 2010 Lateral Drift Pro-Am Round 6 image

Pro Championship

For the battle for bronze, it was a neck-and-neck battle between Choachuy and Rodriguez, with a minor collision in their first run. Rain poured during the second run, with Choachuy running on worn-out tires, he fumbled for control all throughout eventually allowing Rodriguez to make a more consistent run to take the victory.

In championship battle, more focused than ever but going against the odds, Perez managed to defeat Dabasol in the pouring rain to capture his fourth consecutive championship in style.

Perez, Tuason win 2010 Lateral Drift Pro-Am Round 6 image

Amateur Qualifying

The Amateur Division was a swift procession as only 11 competitors arrived and was further cut down when Mark Rosca of Team Forced Speed decided not to run. In qualifying, newcomer Kacee Lumanluan missed her drift on the second turn and went straight into a major disagreement with the wall taking her out of contention as well, cutting the field down to 9. Topping the scoresheets for the qualifying session was Kar Montaner, following in second was Mike Tuason and Bjorn Ongtiaobok, both of TRS.

Amateur Top-16

Nine competitors meant several drivers making bye-runs for their Top-16 class tandems, except for Team Davao's Cocoy Dalugdog and Rey Panaligan of Fern-C Racing, who unfortunately had to make a tandem battle, Panaligan would dispatch Dalugdog in two easy runs. Automatically advancing to the Elite-8 were Mike Tuason, Bjorn Orngtiaobok, Ryan Agoncillo of Team Yellow Cab, Norman Agojo of Team Goodyear, Jayson Lao, Panaligan of Fern-C Racing, and Ric Wee of Team Tires.

Perez, Tuason win 2010 Lateral Drift Pro-Am Round 6 image

Amateur Elite-8

Mike Tuason of TRS manages to slide past Wee of Team Tires advancing into the Top-4; Friendly rivals Agojo and Agoncillo faced-off in a tight match as Agoncillo advances; Top Qualifier Montaner would be paired up against Panaligan, as he showed him how its supposed to be done; Ongtiaobok easily dispatched Jayson Lao sending him back to the paddocks in two runs.

Amateur Top-4

With Mike Tuason and teammate Ongtiaobok sharing the same car being paired against each other, Tuason would automatically advance being the better qualifier, finding himself in the championship battle. Agoncillo and Montaner would battle it out as who would advance to the championship battle against Tuason, while the loser will try to salvage third against Ongtiaobok.

Perez, Tuason win 2010 Lateral Drift Pro-Am Round 6 image

In the battle for bronze, Ongtiaobok pushed the pedal to the metal and countersteered past the young Montaner to secure his silver championship title. The championship battle was between Tuason and Agoncillo who figured in a close tandem battle, but a more determined Tuason would eventually take the win and the championship.

The 2010 Glade Sport Lateral Drift Pro-Am Championship is also supported by PLDT MyDSL, M-150, Goodyear, Falken, Hankook, Starfire, Concept One, FixStop,, Wave89.1, TopGear Magazine, and Stoplight.