Ford Group Philippines kicked off the Ford Focus- TRS Race of Champions in true racing fashion with roaring racetracks, sheer adrenaline and the powered performance of the Ford Focus TDCi race car. The three-part introduction-to-racing series began last Saturday with the first leg featuring Slalom-style racing at the Alabang Town Center.

The event highlighted exciting match-ups all throughout the day as the competition proved to result in tight races for all three categories for the motorsports enthusiasts who were part of the event; Ford consumers, Ford sales consultants and friends from the media. In all three categories, all participants were given practice runs before two timed heats where their best times were ranked to determine the day's fastest drivers.

For the category of Ford consumers third place winner Alvin Ng ended with a best of time 36.13 seconds whereas Jaime Pedrosa was awarded second place with his fastest time of 35.9 seconds. Bobby Horrigan was declared the champion of the category for the first leg with a best time of 35.26 seconds.

For the second batch of fearless racers for the day, representatives of different Ford dealerships all over Manila proved their skills on the tracks. Landing third place winner was the representative from Ford Alabang, Hyram Dansal with a fastest time of 37. 73. Paul Baradas of Ford Edsa with his best time of 37.58 seconds and declared winner was Ford Libis' bet JP Vargas with his excellent time of 37.46 seconds.

Friends from the media represented their various publications for the third and last category where some of the day's closest match-ups were seen. Instead of individual times, participants formed twelve teams of two where each member's best times were added to determine the champion team for the 1st leg of the Ford Focus - TRS Race of Champions Media Cup.

Third place was awarded to the team from Manila Bulletin represented by Anjo Ilagan and Aris Ilagan as their best times combined resulted to 1 minute and 13.2 seconds. The team from Auto Review was done proud by Kit Joaquin and Alvin Ng whose fastest times added up to 1 minute and 13.08 seconds, landing second place by a split of a hair. And the champions of the 1st leg of the Race of Champions Media Cup were a joined team of Iņigo Roces from AutoIndustriya and Chris Van Hoven with an amazing combined time of 1 minute and 12.09 seconds

A special award was also given to Mike Potenciano from Speed TV for fastest individual time of 34.83 seconds -the only race participant who achieved a time of less than 35 seconds for the entirety of the day.

All the participants will continue to battle it out on the second leg on September 12 in Greenhills as the Autocross race type comes into play. Accumulated scores from the first and second leg will determine the top seven teams that will go head on in the final Wheel-to-wheel race championship in November at the Subic raceway.

"Over time, the results of the Ford Focus in international auto sports competitions have contributed to a robust motorsports heritage. We wish to recreate the very same excitement for Philippine racing fans as they get behind the wheel of the Focus' world-class performance.'" says Ford Group Philippines President Rick Baker.

At the heart of the excitement is the Ford Focus TDCi -the revolutionary racecar that runs on turbo-diesel common-rail direct-injection (TDCi), delivering an exceptional peak torque of 340Nm and a unique transient "overboost" feature for excellent performance response on top of a 6-speed transmission. The vehicle gives to the passenger car segment class-leading technologies and clearly groundbreaking innovations.

Spectators of the exciting event get in on the action by trying out the Ford Focus TDCi and the rest of Ford's line-up of vehicles through test drives wherever the races are. If you missed the first leg, catch the action on the second and third leg of the Ford Focus- TRS Race of Champions on September 12 in Greenhills and November 7 in Subic.