For the first time in its history, the Race of Champions will be held in North America. For 2017, the annual gathering of international racing champions make their way to Miami's Marlins Park baseball stadium, the home of the Miami Marlins Major League Baseball team.

The Race of Champions started in 1988, bringing together some of the world’s top drivers from the major motorsports worldwide. The diverse lineup includes drivers from Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, Le Mans, MotoGP, World Rally and various touring car championships.

For the upcoming event, Sebastian Vettel, four-time Formula 1 world champion will be next year's man to beat.

“I’m very happy to have finally won the individual Race of Champions title last year in London’s Olympic Stadium and I look forward to defending my title at ROC in Miami. All the drivers are strong, and the top U.S. drivers from NASCAR and IndyCar will certainly be extra motivated to win in front of their home fans now that the event is being held in their country for the first time," said Vettel.

In previous years, the Race of Champions was held in Europe and Asia. Past venues include Paris at the Stade de France from 2004 to 2006, London at the Wembley Stadium from 2007 to 2008, in Beijing at the “Bird's Nest” Olympic Stadium for 2009, in Bangkok at the Rajamangala Stadium for 2012, Bushy Barbados for 2014. The most recent event was held in London at the former Olympic Stadium in 2015. The race was not held this year.

The Race of Champions 2017 is scheduled on January 21 to January  22.