As Malaysia waves goodbye to Formula 1 at the end of the season, we will see the return of France and Germany to the 2018 F1 calendar. Formula 1 has just released their official season calendar for next year which is set to feature 21 Grands Prix, after it has been approved at a meeting of the FIA World Motor Sport Council today.

“We wanted to finalise next season’s calendar early, so that all our stakeholders would have more time to prepare and we have managed it, thanks in part through working closely with the FIA,” said Chase Carey, Formula One Chairman and CEO.

The return of France and Germany to the F1 calendar were welcomed as the former has been missing from the calendar since 2008. It seems as though the previous report of re-establishing F1 in core areas are true.

“We are proud to confirm that the German and French Grands Prix will take place in 2018. France was one of the seven races that made up the first ever World Championship in 1950 and it now returns after a decade. It will be held at the Paul Ricard circuit, which last hosted a round of the F1 Championship in 1990,” added Carey.

Despite the addition of one more Grand Prix in the schedule, the FIA says the winter and summer breaks will likely remain the same length. This would mean however a schedule more intensive for the teams especially during the middle of the 2018 season, where five Grands Prix will take place over a six-week period all over Europe.

The currently provided schedule is still provisional and may change over the course of the current season. Expect the final schedule to be released towards the end of the current F1 season.

Listed below is the approved (provisional) 2018 F1 schedule:

March 25 – Australia (Melbourne)

April 8 – China (Shanghai)

April 15 – Bahrain (Sakhir)

April 29 – Azerbaijan (Baku)

May 13 – Spain (Barcelona)

May 27 – Monaco (Monte Carlo)

June 10 – Canada (Montreal)

June 24 – France (Le Castellet)

July 1 – Austria (Spielberg)

July 8 – Great Britain (Silverstone)

July 2 – Germany (Hockenheim)

July 29 – Hungary (Budapest)

August 26 – Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)

September 2 – Italy (Monza)

September 16 – Singapore (Singapore)

September 30 – Russia (Sochi)

October 7 – Japan (Suzuka)

October 21 – USA (Austin)

October 28 – Mexico (Mexico City)

November 11 – Brazil (Sao Paulo)

November 25 – Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina)