The 2nd Davao Wild Sprints at the Riverfront Business Park was participated by 67 drag racers from Davao, Cagayan De Oro and Cebu competing for the Stock A & B class, Modified A & B Class, Open-Street, Open-Pro and Classic classes. Around 4,000 spectators went to witness the festive race event.

A total of 97 heats were flagged-off in the 1/8-mile sprint to the finish. "It is certainly a good start for the sport of legal drag racing here in Davao. We are currently extending the racetrack so that we will be able to run full 1/4-mile races," said Mr. Willie Torres of the Davao Classic and Sports Car Club. "We are also in the process of procuring a timing system to systematically run the race and introduce bracket racing here in Davao," added Mr. Torres.

The results were:

STOCK A (1500cc & Below)

Champion ' Jeff Buranday, Davao City, Honda City

Runner Up ' Jibreel Lidasan, Davao City, Nissan Sentra


Champion ' Junjun So, Davao City, Honda Civic SIR

Runner Up ' Edmundo Belen, Davao City, Toyota MR2

MODIFIED A (1500cc & Below)

Champion ' Jimboy Aranas, Davao City, Volkswagen Beetle

Runner Up ' Jun Aranas, Davao City, Volkswagen Sakbayan


Champion ' Raul Yniguez, Davao City, Honda Civic Hatchback

Runner Up ' Percival Pepito, Cagayan de Oro City, Toyota Corolla


Champion ' Willie Torres, Davao Classic and Sports Car Club, Mitsubishi Evolution IV

Runner Up ' Michael Padero, Cagayan de Oro City, Nissan Sentra


Champion ' John Mark Padero, Team Prodrive (Cagayan de Oro City), Honda Civic Hatchback


Champion ' Charlie Gonzales, Davao Classic and Sports Car Club, Ford Mustang GT 350

Runner Up ' Sonny Gonzales, Davao Classic and Sports Car Club, Chevy Camaro

The race was organized by the Davao Classic and Sports Car Club and Wild 92.3 (DXWT-FM) of the UM Broadcasting Netowrk (UMBN) as part of Davao City's Kadayawan Festival. It was held at the Riverfront Business Park, a real estate development of the the Sta. Lucia Realty and

F.S Dizon, Inc. The event was supported by Castrol and Falken Tires.