Audi made a surprise reveal of their 2013 DTM season challenger in the form of the RS 5 DTM, based on the RS 5 performance coupe. Eight RS 5 DTM cars will be fielded on the grid for the 2013 season.  These cars will be fielded by three proven AudiSport teams Abt Sportsline, Phoenix and Rosberg.

“Motorsport is an integral part of the Audi DNA and is not an end in itself for our company,” said Wolfgang Dürheimer.

With technical regulations carried over from the 2012 season, development was done in a limited form through minor improvements of existing components.  The Audi Sport DTM team concentrated on optimizing the existing components in the racecar from the 2012 season. “Our technicians proved to be quite resourceful in the process,” explains Dr. Wolfgang Ullrich. 

“The abbreviation ‘RS’ stands for the sportiest Audi models,” said Dr. Ullrich. “The performance data of the current RS 5 and RS 5 DTM are very similar. This is why we are of the opinion that both fit perfectly to one another.”

The eight Audi factory driver lineup will be headed by two-time DTM Champion Mattias Ekström (Sweden) and newcomer Jamie Green (Great Britain), who is regarded as one of the fastest DTM drivers of the modern era will driver for AudiSport Team Abt. Another two-time DTM Champion, Timo Scheider (Germany) and Adrien Tambay (France) also under Audi Sport Team Abt; Miguel Molina (Spain) and Mike Rockenfeller (Germany) for Audi Sport Team Phoenix; and Filipe Albuquerque (Portugal) and Edoardo Mortara (Italy/France) will drive for Audi Sport Team Rosberg.

The 2013 DTM season starts on May 5 at the Hockenheimring with ten events scheduled for the season. Six races will be held in Germany, with races held in Austria, Great Britain and the Netherlands as well; and on August 4 Russia will host its first DTM race at the Moscow Raceway.