Racing News

Audi clinches 2017/2018 Formula E team championship


While Formula 1 is just midway through the 2018 season, Formula E recently concluded their 4th season. The season finale was held in New York City with Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler winning the season's team championship. For those who don't know, this is also the first time Audi officially entered Formula E.

“This season was up and down, and they always did their best. Also, today when a push came to a shove, they delivered the goods. A big thank you also goes to our base camp in Germany. Great job,” said team principal Allan McNish.

It wasn't a sweeping victory though as Audi had to fight hard to claim the team championship. In fact, the team only won by 2 points against Techeetah after the New York race with Audi having 264 points and Techeetah with 262. Driver Lucas di Grassi managed to place 2nd during the season finale race and was able to finish 2nd in the driver's championship. Meanwhile, teamate Daniel Abt finished 3rd and was keen on helping secure more points for the team.

“No points in four of the races and now I’m second in the drivers’ classification – this is a small miracle. It still turned out to be an exceptional season for me and also our team. We never give up and winning the teams’ title after such an incredible comeback is the best proof of this,” said di Grassi.

Winning the Formula E driver's championship was former Formula 1 driver Jean-Eric Vergne who finished the New York race in first place with Techeetah.

This 2017/2018 season would be the last time Formula E will use the 'gen-1' cars. Beginning in the 5th season, teams will change to the new second-generation Formula E car. They will also be holding more E-Prix in new venues such as Saudi Arabia and Hainan Island in China. Formula E will also be returning to the iconic Monaco circuit beginning next season.

Read more

Recent Articles