Racing News

Chip Ganassi Racing claims 2013 Rolex 24 hour race championship title


At the 51st Anniversary Rolex 24 at Daytona at Daytona International Speedway, Chip Ganassi Racing’s No. 01 BMW Riley and co-drivers Scott Pruett, Juan Pablo Montoya, Memo Rojas and Charlie Kimball took home the overall championship title for the event.

The victory was Pruett’s fifth overall in the Rolex 24 and puts him alongside sports car great Hurley Haywood on the top of the Rolex 24 all-time wins list. In addition, Pruett increases his all-time Rolex 24 class victory mark to 10. For Rojas and Montoya, it was their third overall Rolex 24 victory while it was the first for IZOD IndyCar Series driver Charlie Kimball.

 “It’s just an incredible day all the way around,” Pruett said. “Winning with these guys and winning with Chip and then at the end of it, I’ve gotten to know Hurley real well over the years by racing with him and as a friend. Having him there at the end is pretty special.”

Owner Chip Ganassi is now batting 50 percent in the Rolex 24 by capturing his fifth Rolex 24 triumph in 10 attempts.

“I can’t say enough about Hurley Haywood being there in Victory Lane,” said Chip Ganassi. “We were at the Rolex dinner the other night, and when you look at Hurley’s career and the cars he’s driven and the co-drivers he’s been with, to have a name like Scott Pruett up there tying his record is quite a feat.”

The No. 01 team was labeled as the car to beat entering this weekend’s Rolex 24.  The team lived up to those expectations by leading a race-high 421 of 709 laps to capture North America’s most prestigious sports car race.

In the final hours, Montoya was locked in a tight four-car battle with defending champion No. 60 Michael Shank Racing Ford Riley, the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Chevrolet Corvette and the No. 9 Action Express Chevrolet Corvette. Montoya managed to slip past AJ Allmendinger’s No. 60 entry in the final hour and completed a late gas-and-go pit stop to secure a 21.922-second victory.

The winning No. 01 car had an average speed of 105.22 mph during its 709 laps and 2,524 miles, nearly equivalent of a one-way trip from Daytona Beach, Fla., to downtown Los Angeles.

Meanwhile in the GT category, Audi swept the top two spots with the No. 24 Audi Sport Customer Racing/Alex Job Racing team that consists of team drivers Filipe Albuquergue, Oliver Jarvis, Edoardo Mortara, and Dion von Moltke taking home the class victory by 1.476 seconds over the No. 52 Audi Sport Customer Racing/APR Motorsport Ltd.UK.

Albuquergue who was competing in his first race at Daytona, was struggling to get the No. 24 car to the finish line as the car was having gear box problems.

“I started to have gear problems,” Albuquergue said. “I had to use the clutch, upshifting, downshifting, but I was just getting slow and took some risks.”

In the inaugural race for the GX category, three GX cars battled a few laps apart, but as the clock ticked down to zero, the No. 16 Napleton Racing Porsche Cayman driven by Jim Norman, Shane Lewis, David Donohue, and Nelson Canache took top honors. Bullet Racing in the No. 22 Porsche Cayman GX.R took second, while the No. 38 Ormond Beach-based BGB Motorsports Porsche Cayman GX.R team finished third.

"For us, it was a race of preparation, and our guys did a superior job when this program was conceived in early November of building a car and making it reliable and keeping the stock parts where they needed to be and the proof is in the pudding.” said Donohue.

It is also in the GX category that Mazda decided to show off its SkyActiv technology by letting a Mazda 6 with a 2.4-liter SkyActiv-D engine compete in the race.

Read more

Recent Articles