Racing News

Coseteng nears PNTCC crown with another sweep


SUBIC - San Miguel Beer-Erg Alcotonic top gun Jody Coseteng displayed another intense show as he pulled another sweep anew in the fifth and penultimate round of the Philippine National Touring Car Championship 2005 recently at the newly-redesigned Subic International Raceway.

It was a smooth run all the way for Coseteng. Jacking up with a fastest laptime of 1:17.06, Coseteng pulled away from the pack and cruised unmolested all the way to the finish line of this event duly sanctioned by the governing Automobile Association of the Philippines (AAP) and sponsored by The Philippine Star, Bendix Brakes, Rota Wheels, Johnny Walker, Smirnoff Ice, A-toy body kits, Gadgets & C! Magazines, Home Radio 97.9, DWIZ 88.2, KTC Tools and

Two Petron Ultron-SRA drivers Kookie and Louis Ramirez checked in second and third while Philip Alvendia of A3 Motorsports / Malayan Automasters Touring Car Team and Dennis Uy of Velocity Motors-H&R-Conocoracing Team came in fourth and fifth respectively.

Coseteng remained unbeatable in the afternoon, but the focus shifted to the unexpected twists and turns of the second race. Petron Ultron-SRA drivers Kookie and Louis Ramirez faced an unexpected battle on the fourth lap with Carlos Anton of MP Turbo/Red Horse Team and Dennis Uy of Velocity Motors/Race Fans Team, then running on 4th and 5th spots respectively.

Anton quickly took an opportunity and succeeded to finish second place with his finely tuned Honda EG6, while Uy, displaying his most consistent run this season, passed both Kookie and Louis Ramirez with four laps to go to claim third place in the final race.

Kookie and Louis Ramirez still managed to complete the race and salvaged fourth and fifth places respectively.

With his feat, Coseteng looms as the 2005 National Champion as he garnered a total of 232 points. All he needs to do in the championship round is to finish at least 10th place on the remaining two rounds.

Kookie Ramirez remained second overall with 183 points while Louis Ramirez is third with 125 points. Trailing them are Philip Alvendia with 108 points, Enzo Pastor - 107 points, Carlos Anton -103 points and Dennis Uy with 96 points wrapping up the top 7 finishers.

The Championship Round is set March 4-5 also at the Subic International Raceway.

Featured highlights of the races will be showcased on Slipstream TV Season 2 over Sports Plus Channel 35 on Thursday 7:30 p.m. Slipstream TV is hosted by Dominic Uy and Carlo Tirona.

Read more

Recent Articles