Multiple Formula 1 Grand Prix winner David Coulthard has defeated Mercedes-Benz F1 reserve driver Pascal Wehrlein to clinch the 2014 Race of Champions (ROC) trophy. Coulthard bested 15 fellow motorsport champions at the Bushy Park racing circuit in Barbados.

The 2014 ROC started by dividing the participating drivers into four groups of four to determine who will advance in the knockout stages.

Coulthard was dominant in Group A, taking three wins out of three. The reigning ROC Champion Romain Grosjean finished in third and was eliminated. In Group B, NASCAR Champion Kurt Busch also had three perfect wins defeating FIA World Rallycross Champion Petter Solberg. Seven-time Off-Road Champion Robby Gordon emerged victorious in Group C while 2014 Indianapolis 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay came away from Group D with a perfect record.

David Coulthard celebrates his win

To reach the final stage, the veteran Coulthard defeated Solberg and Australian V8 Supercars Champion Jamie Whincup. On the other hand, the young Wehrlein had defeated the 2014 FIA Formula F3 Champion Esteban Ocon.

During the best-of-three final stage, Coulthard defeated Wehrlein in the first race. Then, the veteran F1 driver showed no sign of slowing down as he went to win the second race clinching his first-ever ROC trophy.

Kristensen and Solberg bag Nations Cup for Team Nordic

Team Nordic composed of Mr. Le Mans Tom Kristensen and FIA World Rallycross Champion Petter Solberg brought home the gold in the Nations Cup. The duo bested Team Scotland's David Coulthard and Susie Wolff, who settled for second place.

Just before the Nations Cup event, the drivers made a special tribute holding a banner wishing Michael Schumacher swift recovery. Schumacher and Sebastian Vettel won the last six Nations Cup trophies under Team Germany.

The win is Tom Kristensen's first ROC victory after having to settle for runner-up honors for the last two events for the Champion of Champions Cup.