Racing News

FIA homologates new powertrains for Formula E


After a thrilling finale last June, the all-electric racing series is bound to have its second season as the Federation Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA) has homologated the eight powertrains for Formula E.

As a review, the inaugural season of Formula E pitted 10 teams using identical single-seater racecars, but from the 2015-2016 season, which begins in Beijing on October 17, the series will become an open championship allowing manufactures to pursue their own in-house innovations; beginning with the development of bespoke powertrains.

With that in mind, the FIA has approved the homologation of the eight manufacturers that will provide powertrains to the 10 teams competing in the second season of Formula E.

Of the 10 teams, eight will use their own powertrains which were designed in collaboration with their technical partners. However, Dragon Racing will partner with Venturi to run the French manufacturer's powertrain while Team Aguri will continue to use the SRT01-e car.

In order to limit costs, FIA adds that the manufacturer's scope is limited to the powertrain specifically the e-motor, inverter, gearbox and cooling system. All other components of the car will remain the same.

2015-2016 FIA Formula E Championship offical entry list:

Team Car

ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport (DEU)

ABT Schaeffler FE01

Andretti Formula E Team (USA)

Andretti ATEC-01

Dragon Racing (USA)

Venturi VM200-FE-01

DS Virgin Racing Formula E Team (GBR)

Virgin DSV-01

Mahindra Racing Formula E Team (IND)

Mahindra M2ELECTRO

NEXTEV TCR Formula E Team (CHN)

NEXTEV TCR FormulaE 001

Renault e.Dams (FRA)

Renault Z.E.15

Team Aguri (JPN)


Trulli Formula E Team (CHE)

Motomatica JT-01

Venturi Formula E Team (MCO)

Venturi VM200-FE-01

Read more

Recent Articles