The Federation Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA), Formula One racing's governing body, released a revised provisional schedule for the 2016 season.

Based on the updated race calendar, the 2016 F1 season will kick off in Australia in March and not in April as previously indicated. The 2016 F1 season will still have a total of 21 races.

On the other hand, the World Motor Sport Council (WMSC) announced that from 2016, all F1 cars must have a separate exhaust wastegate tailpipe.

Several other changes to the F1 regulations are the following:

(1) Cars must now comply with all cockpit and safety equipment requirements during testing; including the position of the driver’s head, cockpit padding and ease of driver egress.

(2) Sporting Regulations regarding track limits have been clarified and specify that drivers “must make every reasonable effort to use the track at all times and may not deliberately leave the track without a justifiable reason.”

(3) The WMSC approved the proposal of the F1 Commission regarding regulations for power unit and gearbox changes. “Such penalties prior to qualifying will be applied based on the time of use.”

(4) Any driver who causes a start to be aborted will no longer be allowed to rejoin the grid for the restart.

(5) The WMSC confirmed a number of clarifications were made to aerodynamic testing restrictions for wind tunnel and CFD usage “specifically focusing on reporting and inspection processes for these development tools.”

Date Race
March 20 Australia
April 3 Bahrain
April 17 China
May 1 Sochi
May 15 Spain
May 29 Monaco 
June 12 Canada
June 19  Baku
July 3 Austria
July 10 Britain
July 24  Hungary
July 31 Germany
August 28  Belgium
September 4  Italy
September 18 Singapore
October 2 Malaysia
October 9  Japan
October 23 USA
November 6 Mexico
November 13 Brazil
November 27 Abu Dhabi