After much speculation, the Formula One Teams’ Association (FOTA) was officially disbanded last Febuary 28, 2014. Oliver Weingarten, FOTA’s Secretary General, confirmed that FOTA has been disbanded.

“I can confirm that FOTA has today been disbanded as a result of its members’ having re-evaluated their requirements in the face of a changing political and commercial landscape in Formula One,” said Weingarten.

Originally, FOTA was established in 2008 to represent all the Formula One teams. FOTA was also made to oppose the efforts of FIA President Max Mosley to impose drastic changes in regulation. With this, FOTA made the Resource Restriction Agreement (RRA) to show its opposition to Mosley’s intent. However, in December 2011, disagreement over how the RRA should be implemented made Ferrari, Red Bull, and Sauber leave the association.  

Before it disbanded FOTA had only seven F1 teams as its member which were McLaren, Mercedes, Williams, Lotus, Force India, Marussia, and Caterham.