Whether you expected it or not, Toyota has a lot to be proud of after winning the 87th running of the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Toyota now holds the distinction of being the only Japanese automaker to win it twice, and back to back too.


From the start, Toyota held on to the overall lead of the race and didn't look back. For them, it was more of a matter of which Toyota will cross the line first. At first, it was car number 7 that looked poised for the victory. That three-man team consisted of Kamui Kobayashi, Jose Maria Lopez, and Mike Conway.

Last year, they finished second to car number 8, which was (and still is) driven by Kazuki Nakajima, Sebastien Buemi, and Fernando Alonso. Car number 8 had its fair share of challenges during the first 23 hours of the race, trying to find the best balance for the car. Car number 7 on the other hand sailed by the field almost flawlessly.


However, it all fell apart for car number 7 in the final hours when Lopez suffered a puncture not one, but twice. This handed over the lead to Nakajima in car number 8, who cruised to victory and led the Toyota 1-2. Finishing a distant third was SMP Racing with Mikhail Aleshin, former F1 racer Vitaly Petrov, and McLaren Formula 1 racer Stoffel Vandoorne.

As for the other classes, Alpine took the win LMP2 with Jackie Chan DC racing just behind them. In LM GTE Pro class, it was a hard fought race among AF Corse Ferrari, and the Porsche GT Team. AF Corse won the class, giving Ferrari their first win in Le Mans in decades. Last but not least is LM GTE Am which was won by Keating Motorsports in their Ford GT, giving the American automaker something to cheer about after a difficult outing this year.