The Korean Grand Prix has been removed from the 2015 Formula One (F1) calendar after its surprise inclusion last month, reducing the number of races for the 2015 F1 season to twenty.

An FIA spokesman confirmed that Korea will not be part of the 2015 F1 season because it was not feasible. The Korean Grand Prix was scheduled as the fifth race of the season on May 3.

This was not surprising for F1 analysts and fans alike as F1 boss Bernie Ecclestone said last month that the local South Korean promoters did not want to push the race but, had to include it for legal reasons.

"We have a contract with Korea, we have to put it on the calendar. If we had not done they could have sued us. We let them off for a year on the understanding they would be back," Ecclestone said.

However, reports state that for some F1 teams, the decision to include the Korean Grand Prix is a means of allowing teams to have five engines per car this season instead of four. As a review, it is stated at the regulations that teams could have five engines if the calendar had more than twenty races.

The revised 2015 F1 schedule released by the FIA is posted below.

March 15             Australia

March 29             Malaysia

April 12               China

April 19               Bahrain

May 10               Spain

May 24               Monaco

June 7                Canada

June 21              Austria

July 5                 Great Britain

July 19               Germany

July 26                Hungary

August 23            Belgium

September 6        Italy

September 20      Singapore

September 27      Japan

October 11          Russia

October 25          United States

November 1         Mexico

November 15       Brazil

November 29       Abu Dhabi