Gian Carlo Minardi, who founded the eponymous Formula 1 team of ‘80s fame has just been elected as president of the FIA Single-Seater Commission.

Minardi was voted in by members of the World Motor Sport Council. He is also president (2014) of the Automobile Club d'Italia (ACI) Land Speed Records Commission and president (2021) of the Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari – Imola; more commonly known as the Imola Circuit.

Though no longer named Minardi Racing, the team lives on as AlphaTauri today. Minardi’s Faenza-based Formula 1 team was founded in 1985 and purchased by Paul Stoddart in 2001 – before being sold to Red Bull in 2005 to become Toro Rosso and then AlphaTauri.

“I warmly welcome the election of Gian Carlo Minardi as FIA Single-Seater Commission President. He is a major figure in motorsport. I look forward to working with him to further develop the Single-Seater pyramid around the world,” said Mohammed Ben Sulayem, FIA president.

The Italian takes over the FIA role from British F1 luminary Bob Fernley, who takes the role of F1 president and CEO from Stefano Domenicali.