The 36th edition of the Dakar rally completed its 13th and final stage with just 204 vehicles (78 motorcycles, 15 quads, 61 cars, and 50 trucks, or 47% of those that started) made it to the finish.

Nani Roma takes the win at 36th Dakar

In the car category, Nani Roma bested the Mini 1-2-3 with a narrow 5'38" margin over Peterhansel. Nani Roma wins in the car category ten years after winning it on a motorcycle. With this, Roma is the third competitor to win in a car category after winning in the motorcycle category.

The car category of the 36th edition of Dakar rally provided some surprises as Portugal’s Carlos Sousa grabbed his sixth Dakar win and the first for the Chinese manufacturer - Haval. The overall winner in the car category was not decided until the thirteenth and final stage where it became a Mini festival with five of its eleven cars were in the top 6. Nevertheless, Nani Roma had a taste of his first Dakar win in a car.

However, the finish was not without controversy after the X-Raid MINI team instructing their drivers to take it easy before the last three rounds with Roma in the lead. On the final stage, 11-time Dakar Champion Peterhansel deliberately slowed down to ensure Roma's victory.

Marc Coma and Jordi Viladoms took the top two places in the motorcycle category. Behind the two KTM riders sit the Frenchman Olivier Pain after fending off the late attacks of his leader, Cyril Despres. Marc Coma gained a significant lead during the fourth day of racing which was the second part of the marathon stage to Chilecito.

Meanwhile, the 26 year old, Chilean rider, Ignasio Casale also puts his name on the prestigious list of winners, as the young quad rider took a home win. This win marks Casale’s first Dakar title.

In the truck category, Russian Andrey Karginov was able to secure his first Dakar win over Gerard de Rooy by just 3’ 11’.