Racing News

Rafael La'O and Joby Tanseco dominate 2013 Circuit Showdown opener


Circuit Showdown, one of the country’s fastest growing grassroots racing events kicked off its 2013 season on March 2 at the Batangas Racing Circuit with over 120 participants. The season opener gathered the largest participation of a total 26 entries for the Grid race.

In Grid C, Toby Santiago led the pack with Al Jeffrey Lacambra and defending champion Marcus Timbol in tow. JP Pacres dominated Grid B with Toby Santiago and Micheal Bryan Co following in second and third. In the fast-paced Grid A, defending champion Nino Garcia’s ended his race early after his car faltered on the second lap giving Rafael La’O a virtually unchallenged run for the win over Eggy Ong and Arnel Carlos.

Over 79 cars participated in the Time Trials hungry for action after a long break from the previous season. Several participants however, seemingly improved their laptimes and broke out of their bracket times. Early birds Marvin Pizarro and Trek Mendoza took full advantage of the morning free practice session, getting instruction and advice from Circuit Showdown instructors Enzo Pastor & Edward dela Rosa. The two drivers managed to make three-second improvements with their laptimes.

In Bracket A, Joby Tanseco dominated the Time Trials as he took home the fastest time of the day with a 1:48.315 laptime on his very first attempt aboard his Nissan GT-R. 2012 Grid A Champion Nino Garcia only managed a best lap of 1:52.914; 4.5 seconds behind Tanseco. Arnel Carlos followed in third with a laptime of 1:53.401.

Paolo Martinez took home his first ever-champion trophy in Bracket B followed closely by Richard Bodestyne and Toby Santiago. In Bracket C Trek Mendoza took home 1st with Mark Castro in 2nd and Arby Andaya in 3rd. Bracket D found Marvin Pizarro in 1st Lewy Manio in 2nd and Toby Santiago in 3rd. Bracket E found Lexter Sy on the top step of the podium with Eduardo Suiza in second and Jeremy Jimenez in third. Lastly in Bracket F Eugene Alonzo took 1st with Micheal Yap in 2nd and Alking dela Cruz in 3rd.

A vast array of participants and cars compete in Circuit Showdown, letting you see cars varying from supercars like Ferraris and Lamborghinis to everyday compact like Toyota Corollas and Honda Civics.

“Bracket racing really lets the ‘car + driver’ equation dominate the field. So it doesn’t matter what you drive, because we have a bracket for you,” says Enzo Pastor, organizer of Circuit Showdown.

Circuit Showdown is supported by GT Radial, Staging Lanes Las Pinas, HKS Super Oil, Dixcel, Rota Wheels, Monster Energy Drink, Walter Lights n’ Sounds, Aguila Auto Glass, Maxspeed, Hardrace, Foil A Car, Runstop Rotors, Egghead, PhilGerma and media partners TopGear Philippines, Sweetspot420,, and Solar Sports.

The second round of Circuit Showdown will be on April 6 at the Clark International Speedway.

Read more

Recent Articles