Racing News

Ramirez and Binamira top 2007 SVI 4-hour Enduro


The SVI 4-Hour Enduro is part of the Petron Grand Prix series of races. George Ramirez (3-time Super Saloon champion) and Juny Binamira (Group 3 Touring Car Driver) are longtime childhood friends. They had teamed up to drive the Enduro in a replica Lotus 7, but when that car experienced some mechanical difficulties, they decide to run Binamira's Petron Treats Miata Challenge entry instead. It proved a good decision as the pair went on to complete 138 laps and win the 4-hour race from a huge field of 27 entries. They had decided to pull off all the weights and run in the open class, giving their car less weight to carry over the hours of racing. This is the first time a non Touring car has won the event since it started in 1995.

In second overall was a trio of drivers, Alvin Santos (2007 PTCC Group 3 Champion), JP Carino (former Formula Toyota Champion) and Mike Potenciano (former Super Saloon Champion) in the Mark Young Racecars Honda Civic LXi. The trio were on track to compete for the top spot with less speed but less time in the pits, but unfortunately encountered some minor problems. This slowed them and resulted in their second spot overall, while still taking the victory in the PG3 class (uses rules from the PTCC Group 3).

In third was the Carmover Honda Civic LXi also in PG3, with female driver Menchie Francisco who had teamed up with fellow Group 3 drivers Jon Mark Ong and Dong Garcia. After a good start, the team suffered brake problems, but was able to hold on for the third spot overall, second in PG3, and took the Rookie Award.

Coming in at fourth place was the first and only diesel-powered vehicle in the field. Kookie Ramirez teamed up with his C! Magazine officemate James Deakin to drive the C! Magazine / M Lhullier TRS Ford Focus Diesel. This is the first time a diesel powered car has entered a circuit race in the Philippines, and it proved that the power plant can be fast and reliable. The pair were on program for a possible win, but a freak broken rear brake rotor forced them into a extended pit stop, putting them in fourth position overall and second in the open class.

The Focus Diesel led home a group of TRS Ford Focus Cup cars prepared by the Tuason Racing Group, which ran only Rookie or Novice Teams. The Ford Focus proved reliable with every one of the 4 cars getting to the finish in the top 10. Fifth Overall was the trio of Novice drivers Quincy Buenaflor / Ryan Zamora / Juan Salandoni who took the Novice Team Award, ahead of Michael Lhullier / Francisco Blanco / Frank Kim in sixth, and Gibson Yu / Dominic Samson / Pia Boren in seventh.

Read more

Recent Articles