Sebastian Vettel takes of the Sportsman of the Year trophy at the Laureus World Sports Award held in Kuala Lumpur’s Istana Budaya (Palace of Culture).

Known as the sporting world’s Oscars, the other nominees for Vettel’s award were Usain Bolt, Mo Farah, Lebron James, Rafa Nadal and Cristiano Ronaldo putting the world’s youngest four-time world champion in very good company.

"I have massive respect for the other athletes here.  When I was on stage and saw so many of the greats, it was truly a very special moment. All the Members of The Academy are true greats – heroes, legends and to see some of them on stage, others in the room and on the red carpet, makes this night very special," said Vettel.

Double F1 World Champion Emerson Fittipaldi, who was part of the panel of judges, awarded the trophy.

Other winners were American swimmer Missy Franklin, Sportswomen of the Year while Bayern Munich were named World Team of the Year.  MotoGP’s Marc Marquez won Breakthrough of the Year, Rafael Nadal work last year deserved the Comeback of the Year award while BMX Freestyler Jamie Bestwick won the award for World Action Sportsperson of the Year and French Paralympic skier Marie Bochet was named Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability.

The event also paid tribute to those who lost their lives aboard Malaysian Airlines flight MH370.