Securing two consecutive victories at the 24 Hours of Le Mans is no easy task, but Toyota managed to pull it off in 2018 and 2019.

This year, the team is chasing their third consecutive win at the 2020 Le Mans 24 endurance race this September 19-20. It seems nothing will stop the Japanese team from achieving their goals, not even a global pandemic.

For the 2020 event, Toyota Gazoo Racing will be fielding two TS050 Hybrid racers in the LMP1 class once again. Interestingly, it would also be the last time the team will be using their LMP1 challengers. Organizers of the World Endurance Championship (WEC) will replace the LMP1 class with a new “hypercar” class starting next season.

Toyota wants a 3rd consecutive win at 24 Hours of Le Mans image

Even though Toyota will compete with the same cars, there is one big change for the team this 2020 Le Mans 24 – the drivers. Specifically, this time around, two-time Formula 1 champion Fernando Alonso will not be driving for the team. Instead, driving the number 7 car will be Kamui Kobayashi, Mike Conway, and Jose Maria Lopez. Meanwhile, the number 8 car is comprised of Sébastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima, and Brendon Hartley.

“The Le Mans 24 Hours is the highlight of our year; it is the main target and always the biggest challenge. We are proud to be preparing for this race as two-time winners and we are giving everything to win a third consecutive Le Mans. Our team members in Japan and Germany have worked flat-out together, as one team, to achieve our dream, and this spirit of one for all, all for one is so important to meet the special challenge of Le Mans,” said Hisatake Murata, Team President of Toyota Gazoo Racing.

Hopefully, Toyota can secure their third consecutive victory at Le Mans this 2020 even without Fernando Alonso as one of the drivers. No other major manufacturer currently competes in the LMP1 class of WEC.

If you plan on watching the 2020 24 Hours of Le Mans this weekend, don't forget to root for the Eurasia Motorsport team as well. They will be flying the Philippine flag high at the legendary endurance race