Toyota Gazoo Racing outclasses its rivals at the 2022 FIA World Rally Championship season after Kalle Rovanperä took the drivers' crown in New Zealand and helped the team secure the manufacturers' title at Rally de España.

Sebastien Ogier takes his first victory in the WRC's hybrid era at the asphalt rally with Rovanperä finishing 3rd, confirming a double podium for Toyota Gazoo Racing. With one more round to spare, the result gave the Japanese marque an unassailable 93-point lead over nearest rival Hyundai Motorsport and thus, secured their second consecutive manufacturers' crown.

Toyota secures 2nd straight manufacturers' title in WRC image

Onboard the Toyota GR Yaris Rally1, Ogier clinched victory by 16.4 seconds from Hyundai's Thierry Neuville. It's the Frenchman's 55th win in the WRC and his first with Benjamin Veillas, who took over co-driver duties for his part-time campaign this season from long-time co-driver Julien Ingrassia.

Aside from Ogier and Rovanperä, GR Yaris Rally1 drivers Elfyn Evans and Takamoto Katsuta also made the top 10 of Rally de España, finishing 6th and 7th.

The WRC's championship finale will take place at Toyota Gazoo Racing's home rally, the all-new asphalt Forum8 Rally Japan on November 10 to 13, 2022.